Sydney beats Perth on penalties in A-League final

PERTH, Australia (AP) Sydney FC has won a record-equaling fourth A-League football title, beating Perth Glory 4-1 on penalty kicks in Sunday's grand final.

The score was 0-0 after extra time.

Adam Le Fondre and Brandon O'Neill scored their penalties for Sydney, and Juande for Perth, before Sydney goalkeeper Andrew Redmayne dived to his right to save Andy Keogh's shot.

Rhyan Grant made it 3-1 to Sydney and Redmayne all but clinched the win when he saved Brendon Santalab's Panenka.

Reza Ghoochannej sent his shot out of the reach of Perth goalkeeper Liam Reddy to make it 4-1, allowing Sydney to equal the Melbourne Victory's four league wins.

Sydney coach Steve Corica said "when it goes the distance, our boys have the mentality, the character. There's a lot of pressure when it goes to penalties and, you know, the penalty takers tonight did a great job."

More AP soccer: and

Updated May 19, 2019

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2020 by STATS PERFORM.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS PERFROM is strictly prohibited.