MLB Baseball

#20
Wei-Yin Chen
ERA W-L K
7.00 0-1 26
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-0 / 193
Position: SPBorn: 7/21/1985 Birthplace: Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Bats/Throws: R/L Draft: Undrafted by Orioles (2012)


Latest News
June 16 1:24 PM PT2:24 PM MT3:24 PM CT4:24 PM ET16:24 ET20:24 GMT4:24 1:24 PM MST3:24 PM EST2:24 PM CST3:54 PM VEN0:24 UAE (+1)3:24 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-4 on Sunday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 7.00 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-1 on Monday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.27 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
June 7 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-1 on Friday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 7.88 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
June 2 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on one hit in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the San Diego Padres 9-3 on Sunday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with an 8.18 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
May 30 1:21 PM PT2:21 PM MT3:21 PM CT4:21 PM ET16:21 ET20:21 GMT4:21 1:21 PM MST3:21 PM EST2:21 PM CST3:51 PM VEN0:21 UAE (+1)3:21 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the San Francisco Giants 3-1 on Thursday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with an 8.55 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
May 26 2:10 PM PT3:10 PM MT4:10 PM CT5:10 PM ET17:10 ET21:10 GMT5:10 2:10 PM MST4:10 PM EST3:10 PM CST4:40 PM VEN1:10 UAE (+1)4:10 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed four runs on six hits in 3.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 9-6 on Sunday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 9.33 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST9:08 PM CST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 12-10 on Friday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with an 8.80 ERA and 1.89 WHIP on the season.
May 21 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Detroit Tigers 5-4 on Tuesday. Chen did not strike out a batter, ending the game with an 8.79 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
May 11 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Saturday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.93 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 4-1 on Thursday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 9.69 ERA and 2.08 WHIP on the season.
May 3 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 7-2 on Friday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with an 11.45 ERA and 2.27 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 12-9 on Saturday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 13.03 ERA and 2.48 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 21 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 5-0 on Sunday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with a 16.43 ERA and 2.87 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 7-2 on Monday. Chen struck out one, ending the game with an 18.00 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 2:56 PM PT3:56 PM MT4:56 PM CT5:56 PM ET17:56 ET21:56 GMT5:56 2:56 PM MST4:56 PM EST3:56 PM CST5:26 PM VEN1:56 UAE (+1)4:56 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-1 on Sunday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 23.40 ERA and 3.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST7:32 PM CST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed 10 runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Cincinnati Reds 14-0 on Tuesday. Chen struck out three, ending the game with a 24.75 ERA and 3.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 2 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST8:39 PM CST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Wei-Yin Chen allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 6-5 on Tuesday. Chen struck out two, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Bal 12 11 0 - 0 32 32 0 192.2 186 97 86 29 57 0 154 1.26 4.02
2013 Bal 7 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 137.0 142 62 62 17 39 2 104 1.32 4.07
2014 Bal 16 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 185.2 193 77 73 23 35 2 136 1.23 3.54
2015 Bal 11 8 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.1 192 78 71 28 41 0 153 1.22 3.34
2016 Mia 5 5 0 - 0 22 22 0 123.1 134 69 68 22 24 0 100 1.28 4.96
2017 Mia 2 1 0 - 0 9 5 0 33.0 25 14 14 3 9 0 25 1.03 3.82
2018 Mia 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 133.1 131 75 71 19 47 6 111 1.34 4.79
2019 Mia 0 1 0 - 0 18 0 0 27.0 31 21 21 6 9 1 26 1.48 7.00
Career 59 51 0 - 0 192 170 0 1023.1 1034 493 466 147 261 11 809 1.27 4.10

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Bal 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bal 23 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bal 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Mia 22 44 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Mia 9 8 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .125 .125 .125
2018 Mia 27 40 2 6 1 0 0 2 0 18 0 0 .150 .150 .175
2019 Mia 18 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 193 100 2 7 1 0 0 2 0 43 0 0 .070 .070 .080

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Bal Total 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 8 2 1 0 1 0 3 1.42
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 8 2 1 0 1 0 3 1.42
2014 Bal Total 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 9.0 14 7 7 2 1 0 7 6.52
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 3.2 7 5 5 2 0 0 3 12.27
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.1 7 2 2 0 1 0 4 3.38
Career 1 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.1 22 9 8 2 2 0 10 4.70


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 244 94 88 91 52.36
Curveball 77 77 70 73.6 16.52
Slider 131 89 81 85.3 28.11
Changeup 14 87 81 83.4 3

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.