MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#11
Yu Darvish
ERA W-L K
5.40 2-3 67
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-5 / 216
Position: SPBorn: 8/16/1986 Birthplace: Osaka, Japan
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Signed via MLB-Japan


Latest News
May 25 2:39 PM PT3:39 PM MT4:39 PM CT5:39 PM ET17:39 ET21:39 GMT5:39 2:39 PM MST4:39 PM EST3:39 PM CST5:09 PM VEN1:39 UAE (+1)4:39 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed six runs on 12 hits and two walks in 7.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-6 on Saturday. Darvish struck out five, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
May 20 8:50 PM PT9:50 PM MT10:50 PM CT11:50 PM ET23:50 ET3:50 GMT11:50 8:50 PM MST10:50 PM EST9:50 PM CST11:20 PM VEN7:50 UAE (+1)10:50 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed three runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 5-4 on Monday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
May 15 7:14 PM PT8:14 PM MT9:14 PM CT10:14 PM ET22:14 ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST9:14 PM EST8:14 PM CST9:44 PM VEN6:14 UAE (+1)9:14 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed two runs on five hits in 5.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cincinnati Reds 6-5 on Wednesday. Darvish struck out 11, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
May 9 2:27 PM PT3:27 PM MT4:27 PM CT5:27 PM ET17:27 ET21:27 GMT5:27 2:27 PM MST4:27 PM EST3:27 PM CST4:57 PM VEN1:27 UAE (+1)4:27 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed one run on one hit and six walks in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 4-1 on Thursday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
May 4 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed five runs on six hits and five walks in 4.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 6-5 on Saturday. Darvish struck out four, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 8:34 PM PT9:34 PM MT10:34 PM CT11:34 PM ET23:34 ET3:34 GMT11:34 8:34 PM MST10:34 PM EST9:34 PM CST11:04 PM VEN7:34 UAE (+1)10:34 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 2-3, allowing one run on two hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 9-1 on Saturday. Darvish struck out eight, ending the game with a 5.02 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 1-3, allowing three runs on five hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-0 on Saturday. Darvish struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.96 ERA and 1.72 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 15 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Yu Darvish improved to 1-2, allowing two runs on four hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 7-2 on Monday. Darvish struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.11 ERA and 1.75 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 8:23 PM PT9:23 PM MT10:23 PM CT11:23 PM ET23:23 ET3:23 GMT11:23 8:23 PM MST10:23 PM EST9:23 PM CST10:53 PM VEN7:23 UAE (+1)10:23 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 0-2, allowing five runs - four earned - on five hits in 5.1 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-2 on Wednesday. Darvish struck out four, ending the game with a 7.50 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 4 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST8:53 PM CST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Yu Darvish fell to 0-1, allowing three runs on five hits and four walks in 4.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Atlanta Braves 9-4 on Thursday. Darvish struck out two, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 2.70 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 30 8:58 PM PT9:58 PM MT10:58 PM CT11:58 PM ET23:58 ET3:58 GMT11:58 8:58 PM MST10:58 PM EST9:58 PM CST11:28 PM VEN7:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Yu Darvish allowed three runs on two hits and seven walks in 2.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Texas Rangers 8-6 on Saturday. Darvish struck out four, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 3.38 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Tex 16 9 0 - 0 29 29 0 191.1 156 89 83 14 89 1 221 1.28 3.90
2013 Tex 13 9 0 - 0 32 32 0 209.2 145 68 66 26 80 1 277 1.07 2.83
2014 Tex 10 7 0 - 0 22 22 2 144.1 133 54 49 13 49 1 182 1.26 3.06
2016 Tex 7 5 0 - 0 17 17 0 100.1 81 43 38 12 31 1 132 1.12 3.41
2017 Tex 6 9 0 - 0 22 22 0 137.0 115 63 61 20 45 0 148 1.17 4.01
2017 LAD 4 3 0 - 0 9 9 0 49.2 44 20 19 7 13 1 61 1.15 3.44
2017 Tot 10 12 0 - 0 31 31 0 186.2 159 83 80 27 58 1 209 1.16 3.86
2018 ChC 1 3 0 - 0 8 8 0 40.0 36 24 22 7 21 0 49 1.43 4.95
2019 ChC 2 3 0 - 0 11 11 0 55.0 51 34 33 11 38 1 67 1.62 5.40
Career 59 48 0 - 0 150 150 2 927.1 761 395 371 110 366 6 1137 1.22 3.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Tex 29 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2013 Tex 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tex 22 5 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2016 Tex 17 3 1 1 0 0 1 1 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 1.333
2017 LAD 9 17 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 14 0 0 .059 .111 .059
2017 Tot 31 17 0 1 0 0 0 0 1 14 0 0 .059 .111 .059
2018 ChC 8 12 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 7 0 0 .083 .083 .167
2019 ChC 11 19 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .053 .053 .053
Career 150 62 1 6 2 0 1 1 1 38 0 0 .097 .111 .177

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2012 Tex Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 5 3 2 0 0 0 7 2.70
2016 Tex Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 4 1 0 4 9.00
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 5 5 5 4 1 0 4 9.00
2017 LAD Total 2 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 14.2 17 11 10 4 3 0 14 6.14
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 2 1 1 1 0 0 7 1.80
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.1 6 1 1 1 1 0 7 1.42
    WS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 3.1 9 9 8 2 2 0 0 21.60
Career 2 4 0 - 0 6 6 0 26.1 27 19 17 8 4 0 25 5.81

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2017 LAD Total 4 4 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 1 0 0 .000 .333 .000
Career 6 4 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 429 99 89 93.6 42.9
Curveball 35 82 71 75.4 3.5
Slider 225 88 77 83 22.5
Changeup 4 90 86 88.3 .4
Split-Finger 49 95 87 90.5 4.9
Cut Fastball 258 91 83 87.3 25.8

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties