MLB Baseball

#85
Luis Cessa
ERA S K
4.11 1 75
Team: NY YankeesHt / Wt: 6-0 / 208
Position: RPBorn: 4/25/1992 Birthplace: Cordoba, Mexico
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Mets (2008)


Latest News
Oct. 15 4:56 PM PT5:56 PM MT6:56 PM CT7:56 PM ET19:56 ET23:56 GMT7:56 4:56 PM MST6:56 PM EST5:56 PM CST7:26 PM VEN3:56 UAE (+1)6:56 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 4-1 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.50 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 28 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed four runs on two hits and four walks in 1.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Texas Rangers 9-4 on Saturday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on one hit without recording an out as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 4-0 on Wednesday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 3.62 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.66 ERA and 1.23 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 13 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Friday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.71 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 10 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed three runs - one earned - on three hits in 2.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Detroit Tigers 12-11 on Tuesday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.81 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 4 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Luis Cessa improved to 2-1, allowing two hits over 3.0 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Texas Rangers 4-1 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 30 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 8-2 on Friday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 28 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-0 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.10 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 9:36 PM PT10:36 PM MT11:36 PM CT12:36 AM ET0:36 ET4:36 GMT12:36 9:36 PM MST11:36 PM EST10:36 PM CST12:06 AM VEN8:36 UAE11:36 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-3 on Thursday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.23 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 18 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST2:53 PM CST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on two hits and one walk in 3.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-4 on Sunday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 4.36 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 14 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST2:08 PM CST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 1.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-5 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 4.33 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 1:02 PM PT2:02 PM MT3:02 PM CT4:02 PM ET16:02 ET20:02 GMT4:02 1:02 PM MST3:02 PM EST2:02 PM CST3:32 PM VEN0:02 UAE (+1)3:02 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on two hits and two walks in 0.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-5 on Monday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 7:19 PM PT8:19 PM MT9:19 PM CT10:19 PM ET22:19 ET2:19 GMT10:19 7:19 PM MST9:19 PM EST8:19 PM CST9:49 PM VEN6:19 UAE (+1)9:19 PM CT-Luis Cessa recorded his first save, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 3.0 innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 12-6 on Thursday. Cessa struck out five, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST9:35 PM CST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.1 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 7-4 on Sunday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 3.74 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
July 30 7:24 PM PT8:24 PM MT9:24 PM CT10:24 PM ET22:24 ET2:24 GMT10:24 7:24 PM MST9:24 PM EST8:24 PM CST9:54 PM VEN6:24 UAE (+1)9:24 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on three hits in 3.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-2 on Tuesday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.91 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
July 25 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 19-3 on Thursday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST9:22 PM CST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Minnesota Twins 8-6 on Monday. Cessa struck out six, ending the game with a 4.13 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Luis Cessa improved to 1-1, allowing two hits and one walk over 3.1 scoreless innings, as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Thursday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 4.20 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
July 4 6:35 PM PT7:35 PM MT8:35 PM CT9:35 PM ET21:35 ET1:35 GMT9:35 6:35 PM MST8:35 PM EST7:35 PM CST9:05 PM VEN5:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 0.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-4 on Thursday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 4.75 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
June 30 11:37 AM PT12:37 PM MT1:37 PM CT2:37 PM ET14:37 ET18:37 GMT2:37 11:37 AM MST1:37 PM EST12:37 PM CST2:07 PM VEN22:37 UAE1:37 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed four hits without giving up a run in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Boston Red Sox 12-8 on Sunday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 4.61 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
June 23 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST2:59 PM CST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 9-4 on Sunday. Cessa struck out four, ending the game with a 5.11 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
June 19 1:34 PM PT2:34 PM MT3:34 PM CT4:34 PM ET16:34 ET20:34 GMT4:34 1:34 PM MST3:34 PM EST2:34 PM CST4:04 PM VEN0:34 UAE (+1)3:34 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 12-1 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 5.73 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 14 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed four runs on five hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 10-2 on Friday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 6.10 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
June 11 7:34 PM PT8:34 PM MT9:34 PM CT10:34 PM ET22:34 ET2:34 GMT10:34 7:34 PM MST9:34 PM EST8:34 PM CST10:04 PM VEN6:34 UAE (+1)9:34 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees lost to the New York Mets 10-4 on Tuesday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.10 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
June 8 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST4:52 PM CST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Cleveland Indians 8-4 on Saturday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:35 PM PT8:35 PM MT9:35 PM CT10:35 PM ET22:35 ET2:35 GMT10:35 7:35 PM MST9:35 PM EST8:35 PM CST10:05 PM VEN6:35 UAE (+1)9:35 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs on two hits in 0.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 11-7 on Wednesday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.33 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
June 2 7:41 PM PT8:41 PM MT9:41 PM CT10:41 PM ET22:41 ET2:41 GMT10:41 7:41 PM MST9:41 PM EST8:41 PM CST10:11 PM VEN6:41 UAE (+1)9:41 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed five runs on five hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees lost to the Boston Red Sox 8-5 on Sunday. Cessa did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 28 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the San Diego Padres 5-4 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 25 2:01 PM PT3:01 PM MT4:01 PM CT5:01 PM ET17:01 ET21:01 GMT5:01 2:01 PM MST4:01 PM EST3:01 PM CST4:31 PM VEN1:01 UAE (+1)4:01 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two hits without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-3 on Saturday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.33 ERA and 1.27 WHIP on the season.
May 20 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits and two walks in 2.1 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-7 on Monday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.63 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
May 18 1:52 PM PT2:52 PM MT3:52 PM CT4:52 PM ET16:52 ET20:52 GMT4:52 1:52 PM MST3:52 PM EST2:52 PM CST4:22 PM VEN0:52 UAE (+1)3:52 PM CT-Luis Cessa fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits in 1.0 inning, as the New York Yankees lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 2-1 on Saturday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 8 6:48 PM PT7:48 PM MT8:48 PM CT9:48 PM ET21:48 ET1:48 GMT9:48 6:48 PM MST8:48 PM EST7:48 PM CST9:18 PM VEN5:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on three hits in 3.0 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Seattle Mariners 10-1 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out five, ending the game with a 3.32 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
May 6 6:17 PM PT7:17 PM MT8:17 PM CT9:17 PM ET21:17 ET1:17 GMT9:17 6:17 PM MST8:17 PM EST7:17 PM CST8:47 PM VEN5:17 UAE (+1)8:17 PM CT-Luis Cessa did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-3 on Monday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 1 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST4:55 PM CST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 2.0 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Cessa struck out three, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 3:44 PM PT4:44 PM MT5:44 PM CT6:44 PM ET18:44 ET22:44 GMT6:44 3:44 PM MST5:44 PM EST4:44 PM CST6:14 PM VEN2:44 UAE (+1)5:44 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed four runs on four hits in 1.2 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-4 on Saturday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.46 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 10:26 PM PT11:26 PM MT12:26 AM CT1:26 AM ET1:26 ET5:26 GMT13:26 10:26 PM MST12:26 AM EST11:26 PM CST12:56 AM VEN9:26 UAE12:26 AM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit and one walk without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 7-5 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 1.59 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 11:47 PM PT12:47 AM MT1:47 AM CT2:47 AM ET2:47 ET6:47 GMT14:47 11:47 PM MST1:47 AM EST12:47 AM CST2:17 AM VEN10:47 UAE1:47 AM CT-Luis Cessa walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Los Angeles Angels 4-3 on Monday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 1.74 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the New York Yankees defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-2 on Friday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 1.93 ERA and 1.18 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Luis Cessa walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.1 scoreless innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Chicago White Sox 5-2 on Sunday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 1.08 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 8:29 PM PT9:29 PM MT10:29 PM CT11:29 PM ET23:29 ET3:29 GMT11:29 8:29 PM MST10:29 PM EST9:29 PM CST10:59 PM VEN7:29 UAE (+1)10:29 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 1.2 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Houston Astros 6-3 on Tuesday. Cessa struck out two, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 1:15 PM PT2:15 PM MT3:15 PM CT4:15 PM ET16:15 ET20:15 GMT4:15 1:15 PM MST3:15 PM EST2:15 PM CST3:45 PM VEN0:15 UAE (+1)3:15 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the New York Yankees defeated the Baltimore Orioles 15-3 on Sunday. Cessa struck out one, ending the game with a 1.69 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 5:14 PM PT6:14 PM MT7:14 PM CT8:14 PM ET20:14 ET0:14 GMT8:14 5:14 PM MST7:14 PM EST6:14 PM CST7:44 PM VEN4:14 UAE (+1)7:14 PM CT-Luis Cessa allowed two runs - one earned - on two hits and two walks in 3.1 innings as the New York Yankees lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-5 on Sunday. Cessa struck out five, ending the game with a 2.70 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2016 NYY 4 4 0 - 0 17 9 0 70.1 64 36 34 16 14 0 46 1.11 4.35
2017 NYY 0 3 0 - 0 10 5 0 36.0 36 21 19 7 17 0 30 1.47 4.75
2018 NYY 1 4 2 - 2 16 5 0 44.2 51 27 26 5 13 0 39 1.43 5.24
2019 NYY 2 1 1 - 1 43 0 0 81.0 75 42 37 14 31 1 75 1.31 4.11
Career 7 12 3 - 3 86 19 0 232.0 226 126 116 42 75 1 190 1.30 4.50

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 NYY 16 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 NYY 43 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 86 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2019 NYY Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 1 0 0 2.0 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 566 98 91 94.5 41.86
Curveball 10 84 78 80.9 .74
Slider 677 88 81 84.9 50.07
Changeup 99 91 84 87.1 7.32

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.