MLB Baseball

#72
Yonny Chirinos
ERA W-L K
3.85 9-5 114
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-2 / 240
Position: SPBorn: 12/26/1993 Birthplace: Bachaquero, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Rays (2012)


Latest News
Sep. 29 3:19 PM PT4:19 PM MT5:19 PM CT6:19 PM ET18:19 ET22:19 GMT6:19 3:19 PM MST5:19 PM EST4:19 PM CST5:49 PM VEN2:19 UAE (+1)5:19 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed four runs on four hits in 2.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-3 on Sunday. Chirinos struck out two, ending the game with a 3.85 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 24 8:15 PM PT9:15 PM MT10:15 PM CT11:15 PM ET23:15 ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST10:15 PM EST9:15 PM CST10:45 PM VEN7:15 UAE (+1)10:15 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed one run on one hit in 3.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Tuesday. Chirinos did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.65 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 21 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Saturday. Chirinos struck out two, ending the game with a 3.67 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 1:08 PM PT2:08 PM MT3:08 PM CT4:08 PM ET16:08 ET20:08 GMT4:08 1:08 PM MST3:08 PM EST2:08 PM CST3:38 PM VEN0:08 UAE (+1)3:08 PM CT-The Rays have activated Chirinos (right middle finger inflammation) from the injured list prior to Saturday's game against the Red Sox.
Analysis: Chirinos compiled a 4-4 record with a 3.91 ERA while striking out nearly a batter per inning after joining Tampa Bay's rotation in late May, though he's expected to be used as a reliever for the season's final stretch. It's still good news for the Rays as they continue their bid for a playoff spot and who also recently got Blake Snell and Tyler Glasnow back from injuries.
July 28 2:21 PM PT3:21 PM MT4:21 PM CT5:21 PM ET17:21 ET21:21 GMT5:21 2:21 PM MST4:21 PM EST3:21 PM CST4:51 PM VEN1:21 UAE (+1)4:21 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed seven runs on eight hits and three walks in 4.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 10-9 on Sunday. Chirinos struck out four, ending the game with a 3.70 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed two runs on six hits in 5.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 5-4 on Tuesday. Chirinos struck out five, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 18 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos fell to 8-5, allowing five runs - four earned - on nine hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 6-2 on Thursday. Chirinos struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
July 12 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 8-4, allowing two runs on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 16-4 on Friday. Chirinos struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
July 4 6:35 PM PT7:35 PM MT8:35 PM CT9:35 PM ET21:35 ET1:35 GMT9:35 6:35 PM MST8:35 PM EST7:35 PM CST9:05 PM VEN5:35 UAE (+1)8:35 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed three runs on five hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 8-4 on Thursday. Chirinos struck out five, ending the game with a 3.15 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
June 28 7:02 PM PT8:02 PM MT9:02 PM CT10:02 PM ET22:02 ET2:02 GMT10:02 7:02 PM MST9:02 PM EST8:02 PM CST9:32 PM VEN6:02 UAE (+1)9:02 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos fell to 7-4, allowing four runs - three earned - on five hits and four walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Texas Rangers 5-0 on Friday. Chirinos struck out five, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
June 22 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST5:14 PM CST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-2 on Saturday. Chirinos struck out three, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 17 6:47 PM PT7:47 PM MT8:47 PM CT9:47 PM ET21:47 ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST8:47 PM EST7:47 PM CST9:17 PM VEN5:47 UAE (+1)8:47 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos fell to 7-3, allowing three runs on five hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 3-0 on Monday. Chirinos struck out six, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 0.94 WHIP on the season.
June 12 12:36 PM PT1:36 PM MT2:36 PM CT3:36 PM ET15:36 ET19:36 GMT3:36 12:36 PM MST2:36 PM EST1:36 PM CST3:06 PM VEN23:36 UAE2:36 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-2 on Wednesday. Chirinos struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.88 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
June 7 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 7-2, allowing two hits and two walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 5-1 on Friday. Chirinos struck out six, ending the game with a 2.87 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
June 1 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos fell to 6-2, allowing four runs on nine hits and one walk in 5.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-2 on Saturday. Chirinos struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 0.95 WHIP on the season.
May 27 1:35 PM PT2:35 PM MT3:35 PM CT4:35 PM ET16:35 ET20:35 GMT4:35 1:35 PM MST3:35 PM EST2:35 PM CST4:05 PM VEN0:35 UAE (+1)3:35 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 6-1, allowing no hits and two walks over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-3 on Monday. Chirinos struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST8:05 PM CST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed one run on three hits in 3.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Dodgers 8-1 on Wednesday. Chirinos struck out two, ending the game with a 3.20 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
May 17 7:55 PM PT8:55 PM MT9:55 PM CT10:55 PM ET22:55 ET2:55 GMT10:55 7:55 PM MST9:55 PM EST8:55 PM CST10:25 PM VEN6:55 UAE (+1)9:55 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed four hits without giving up a run in 4.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 4-3 on Friday. Chirinos struck out two, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
May 11 6:08 PM PT7:08 PM MT8:08 PM CT9:08 PM ET21:08 ET1:08 GMT9:08 6:08 PM MST8:08 PM EST7:08 PM CST8:38 PM VEN5:08 UAE (+1)8:08 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 5-1, allowing two runs on four hits and one walk in 4.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 7-2 on Saturday. Chirinos struck out two, ending the game with a 3.61 ERA and 0.92 WHIP on the season.
May 4 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos fell to 4-1, allowing three runs on seven hits and one walk in 7.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Baltimore Orioles 3-0 on Saturday. Chirinos struck out three, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 0.89 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST9:09 PM CST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 4-0, allowing four runs - two earned - on two hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-5 on Monday. Chirinos struck out four, ending the game with a 3.48 ERA and 0.84 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)8:50 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 6-3 on Monday. Chirinos struck out three, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 0.91 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 17 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET22:08 ET2:08 GMT10:08 7:08 PM MST9:08 PM EST8:08 PM CST9:38 PM VEN6:08 UAE (+1)9:08 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 3-0, allowing one hit and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 8-1 on Wednesday. Chirinos struck out five, ending the game with a 3.26 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 12 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos allowed six runs on seven hits and two walks in 2.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 11-7 on Friday. Chirinos struck out three, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 0.98 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 4:19 PM PT5:19 PM MT6:19 PM CT7:19 PM ET19:19 ET23:19 GMT7:19 4:19 PM MST6:19 PM EST5:19 PM CST6:49 PM VEN3:19 UAE (+1)6:19 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 2-0, allowing two hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the San Francisco Giants 3-0 on Sunday. Chirinos struck out five, ending the game with a 0.75 ERA and 0.42 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 12:27 PM PT1:27 PM MT2:27 PM CT3:27 PM ET15:27 ET19:27 GMT3:27 12:27 PM MST2:27 PM EST1:27 PM CST2:57 PM VEN23:27 UAE2:27 PM CT-Yonny Chirinos improved to 1-0, allowing one run on two hits in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 3-1 on Sunday. Chirinos struck out six, ending the game with a 1.29 ERA and 0.29 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2018 TB 5 5 0 - 0 18 7 0 89.2 84 40 35 7 25 2 75 1.22 3.51
2019 TB 9 5 0 - 0 26 18 0 133.1 112 61 57 23 28 1 114 1.05 3.85
Career 14 10 0 - 0 44 25 0 223.0 196 101 92 30 53 3 189 1.12 3.71

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2018 TB 18 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2019 TB 26 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 44 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1129 98 87 93.6 56.88
Slider 425 92 82 87.7 21.41
Split-Finger 431 90 81 85.7 21.71

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.