MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
David Ortiz
AVG HR RBI
.245 20 58
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-3 / 230 NFBC ADP: 99.73
Position: DHBorn: 11/18/1975 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: Undrafted by Mariners (1992)


Latest News
July 31 3:52 PM PT4:52 PM MT5:52 PM CT6:52 PM ET18:52 ET22:52 GMT6:52 3:52 PM MST5:52 PM EST6:22 PM VEN2:52 UAE (+1)5:52 PM CT-Ortiz went 3 for 3 with two RBIs in Thursday's win over the White Sox.
Analysis: Ortiz is swinging the bat better of late, going 12 for 28 (.429) with four homers and 13 RBIs over his last seven games.
July 27 3:47 PM PT4:47 PM MT5:47 PM CT6:47 PM ET18:47 ET22:47 GMT6:47 3:47 PM MST5:47 PM EST6:17 PM VEN2:47 UAE (+1)5:47 PM CT-Ortiz homered twice and drove in a career-high seven runs to lead the Boston Red Sox to an 11-1 victory over the Detroit Tigers on Sunday night.
Analysis: Big Papi is batting .348 with five home runs and 13 RBIs in 12 games.
July 12 10:14 AM PT11:14 AM MT12:14 PM CT1:14 PM ET13:14 ET17:14 GMT1:14 10:14 AM MST12:14 PM EST12:44 PM VEN21:14 UAE12:14 PM CT-Ortiz is out of Sunday's lineup against the New York Yankees because of an upper respiratory illness.
Analysis: Manager John Farrell said he was waiting to see how Ortiz felt before posting the lineup. About 45 minutes later, the club listed the lineup without Ortiz's name.
July 9 2:51 PM PT3:51 PM MT4:51 PM CT5:51 PM ET17:51 ET21:51 GMT5:51 2:51 PM MST4:51 PM EST5:21 PM VEN1:51 UAE (+1)4:51 PM CT-Ortiz got back on track Wednesday, going 2 for 4 with his 15th home run in a 6-3 home win over Miami.
Analysis: Ortiz had been hitless in eight at-bats over his previous three games. He has nine home runs over his last 26 games.
July 5 10:13 AM PT11:13 AM MT12:13 PM CT1:13 PM ET13:13 ET17:13 GMT1:13 10:13 AM MST12:13 PM EST12:43 PM VEN21:13 UAE12:13 PM CT-Ortiz used his glove to start a game in Fenway Park for the first time in nearly 10 years after starting at first base Sunday against Houston.
Analysis: Boston's regular designated hitter hasn't started a non-interleague game at first since Aug. 5, 2006, when the Red Sox played at Tampa Bay.
July 4 11:32 AM PT12:32 PM MT1:32 PM CT2:32 PM ET14:32 ET18:32 GMT2:32 11:32 AM MST1:32 PM EST2:02 PM VEN22:32 UAE1:32 PM CT-Ortiz was 2 for 3 with two RBIs on Friday.
Analysis: In truth, 'Big Papi' has made his fantasy owners unhappy this year with a pathetic .753 OPS. Maybe he will redeem himself after the All-Star break.
July 3 9:19 AM PT10:19 AM MT11:19 AM CT12:19 PM ET12:19 ET16:19 GMT0:19 9:19 AM MST11:19 AM EST11:49 AM VEN20:19 UAE11:19 AM CT-Ortiz drilled a three-run bomb Thursday.
Analysis: Ortiz has mostly been a fantasy disaster at .228/.313/.426 this year. His glory days seem to be way behind him.
June 25 3:32 PM PT4:32 PM MT5:32 PM CT6:32 PM ET18:32 ET22:32 GMT6:32 3:32 PM MST5:32 PM EST6:02 PM VEN2:32 UAE (+1)5:32 PM CT-Ortiz hit his second home run in three games Wednesday versus Baltimore.
Analysis: Ortiz has five homers and 12 RBIs in his last 13 games.
June 22 9:55 AM PT10:55 AM MT11:55 AM CT12:55 PM ET12:55 ET16:55 GMT0:55 9:55 AM MST11:55 AM EST12:25 PM VEN20:55 UAE11:55 AM CT-Ortiz launched his 476th homer to move past Stan Musial and Willie Stargell, and the Red Sox banged out 13 extra-base hits Sunday in a 13-2 victory over the Kansas City Royals.
Analysis: Ortiz, scuffling with a pathetic .236 average, homered leading off the fourth to move into 28th place on the career list. "I got to meet `The Man' (Musial) one time a long time ago," Ortiz reminisced.
June 13 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Ortiz was 2 for 4 on Friday.
Analysis: Ortiz is 3 for 8 with three RBIs since being benched Thursday. 'Big Papi' should shut his 'trapi' and focus on improving a .225 average.
June 12 8:45 AM PT9:45 AM MT10:45 AM CT11:45 AM ET11:45 ET15:45 GMT23:45 8:45 AM MST10:45 AM EST11:15 AM VEN19:45 UAE10:45 AM CT-Ortiz went yard on Thursday.
Analysis: Ortiz was back in the lineup one day after he complained about being benched. The once-feared slugger is hitting .220 for the last-place BoSox.
June 10 2:42 PM PT3:42 PM MT4:42 PM CT5:42 PM ET17:42 ET21:42 GMT5:42 2:42 PM MST4:42 PM EST5:12 PM VEN1:42 UAE (+1)4:42 PM CT-Ortiz wasn't in the Boston Red Sox starting lineup Wednesday night against the Baltimore Orioles, and he obviously wasn't happy about it. Ortiz kept his back to reporters, sitting in front of his locker as he reluctantly fielded questions about why he wasn't starting against Orioles lefty Wei-Yin Chen.
Analysis: He said: ''What do you want me to tell you? You have to ask the manager. ... I do what I get to be told. I'm not playing today, so I'm here in case he needs me later.'' Oritz is batting .114 against left-handers this season and .219 overall, although he's hitting .308 lifetime against Chen.
May 31 12:25 PM PT1:25 PM MT2:25 PM CT3:25 PM ET15:25 ET19:25 GMT3:25 12:25 PM MST2:25 PM EST2:55 PM VEN23:25 UAE2:25 PM CT-Ortiz was 2 for 4 with his ninth double Saturday at Texas.
Analysis: Performances like Saturday's have been rare for Ortiz this season, who is batting .186 in his last 15 and .223 this year.
May 28 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Ortiz wasn't in the lineup for Thursday's series opener at Texas, following a five-game stretch when he had only one hit in 20 at-bats.
Analysis: Red Sox manager John Farrell indicated before the game that Ortiz might be out of the lineup for a couple of games, giving him a chance to work on a few things. Ortiz is hitting .216 with six home runs and 18 RBIs in 43 games this season
May 27 8:28 AM PT9:28 AM MT10:28 AM CT11:28 AM ET11:28 ET15:28 GMT23:28 8:28 AM MST10:28 AM EST10:58 AM VEN19:28 UAE10:28 AM CT-Ortiz has been dropped in the batting order.
Analysis: Ortiz doubled in the first inning Tuesday to end an 0-for-16 slump. Manager John Farrell dropped Ortiz to fifth in the batter order, the lowest spot in the lineup he's hit since May 6, 2012.
May 20 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Ortiz homered and drove in two runs in Tuesday's win over Texas.
Analysis: Ortiz has homered in back-to-back games and is 2 for 4 in three straight.
Apr. 21 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Ortiz has lost his appeal of a one-game suspension for bumping an umpire and will sit out Friday night's game against the Blue Jays.
Analysis: Ortiz bumped plate ump John Tumpane while protesting third base umpire Jerry Meals' call on a check swing in an April 19 loss to Baltimore.
Mar. 29 3:39 PM PT4:39 PM MT5:39 PM CT6:39 PM ET18:39 ET22:39 GMT6:39 3:39 PM MST5:39 PM EST6:09 PM VEN2:39 UAE (+1)5:39 PM CT-Ortiz was 0 for 3 with a pair of strikeouts Sunday, lowering his average to .208.
Analysis: Ortiz recently vehemently denied he uses performing-enhancing drugs in an illuminating interview with Derek Jeter's celebrity website.
Mar. 27 9:01 AM PT10:01 AM MT11:01 AM CT12:01 PM ET12:01 ET16:01 GMT0:01 9:01 AM MST11:01 AM EST11:31 AM VEN20:01 UAE10:01 AM CT-Ortiz says he ''never knowingly took any steroids'' and he's definitely a Hall of Famer. The remarks by the 39-year-old designated hitter come in a column Thursday for The Players' Tribune, a website founded by Derek Jeter that gives professional athletes a platform.
Analysis: Ortiz also voiced his displeasure that he will ''always be considered a cheater'' to his detractors. Ortiz contends nobody in baseball has been tested more for performance-enhancing drugs than he has - more than 80 times since 2004. Ortiz writes: ''I have never failed a single one of those tests and I never will.''

w9 © 2015 by STATS LLC.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS LLC is strictly prohibited.

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 243,378 other followers