MLB Baseball

#50
Adam Wainwright
ERA W-L K
3.99 6-7 89
Team: St. LouisHt / Wt: 6-7 / 230
Position: SPBorn: 8/30/1981 Birthplace: Brunswick, Georgia
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Braves (2000)


Latest News
July 14 2:13 PM PT3:13 PM MT4:13 PM CT5:13 PM ET17:13 ET21:13 GMT5:13 2:13 PM MST4:13 PM EST3:13 PM CST4:43 PM VEN1:13 UAE (+1)4:13 PM CT-Adam Wainwright improved to 6-7, allowing four hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 5-2 on Sunday. Wainwright struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.99 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
July 12 12:11 PM PT1:11 PM MT2:11 PM CT3:11 PM ET15:11 ET19:11 GMT3:11 12:11 PM MST2:11 PM EST1:11 PM CST2:41 PM VEN23:11 UAE2:11 PM CT-Wainwright has been scratched from Friday's scheduled start against the Diamondbacks due to back spasms.
Analysis: It's possible another trip to the injured list is forthcoming for the 37-year-old Wainwright, who will be replaced by Daniel Ponce de Leon. The 27-year-old Ponce de Leon impressed in three earlier starts with St. Louis this season, allowing just two runs over a combined 15 innings in those outings.
July 4 10:25 PM PT11:25 PM MT12:25 AM CT1:25 AM ET1:25 ET5:25 GMT13:25 10:25 PM MST12:25 AM EST11:25 PM CST12:55 AM VEN9:25 UAE12:25 AM CT-Adam Wainwright allowed two runs on four hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-2 on Wednesday. Wainwright struck out six, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 26 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Adam Wainwright fell to 5-7, allowing two runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.2 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Oakland Athletics 2-0 on Wednesday. Wainwright struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
June 20 8:53 PM PT9:53 PM MT10:53 PM CT11:53 PM ET23:53 ET3:53 GMT11:53 8:53 PM MST10:53 PM EST9:53 PM CST11:23 PM VEN7:53 UAE (+1)10:53 PM CT-Adam Wainwright allowed three runs on six hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Miami Marlins 7-6 on Thursday. Wainwright struck out six, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.39 WHIP on the season.
June 9 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Wainwright (strained left hamstring) has been activated from the injured list to start Thursday against the Marlins.
Analysis: Wainwright sustained the injury running the bases June 9 against the Cubs but wound up missing just one start. He hasn't been great over the past month, posting a 2-4 record and a 5.03 ERA in his last seven starts.
June 2 1:59 PM PT2:59 PM MT3:59 PM CT4:59 PM ET16:59 ET20:59 GMT4:59 1:59 PM MST3:59 PM EST2:59 PM CST4:29 PM VEN0:59 UAE (+1)3:59 PM CT-Adam Wainwright improved to 5-5, allowing two hits and seven walks over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Chicago Cubs 2-1 on Sunday. Wainwright struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
May 28 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Adam Wainwright fell to 4-5, allowing four runs on eight hits in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 4-3 on Tuesday. Wainwright struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.94 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 22 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Adam Wainwright improved to 4-4, allowing three runs on six hits and four walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-3 on Wednesday. Wainwright struck out two, ending the game with a 4.82 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
May 16 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST8:42 PM CST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Adam Wainwright fell to 3-4, allowing five runs on five hits and five walks in 4.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Atlanta Braves 10-2 on Thursday. Wainwright struck out two, ending the game with a 4.75 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
May 10 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Adam Wainwright allowed one run on five hits in 7.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 2-1 on Friday. Wainwright struck out eight, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.25 WHIP on the season.
May 5 7:36 PM PT8:36 PM MT9:36 PM CT10:36 PM ET22:36 ET2:36 GMT10:36 7:36 PM MST9:36 PM EST8:36 PM CST10:06 PM VEN6:36 UAE (+1)9:36 PM CT-Adam Wainwright fell to 3-3, allowing five runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Chicago Cubs 13-5 on Sunday. Wainwright struck out two, ending the game with a 4.46 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:18 PM PT8:18 PM MT9:18 PM CT10:18 PM ET22:18 ET2:18 GMT10:18 7:18 PM MST9:18 PM EST8:18 PM CST9:48 PM VEN6:18 UAE (+1)9:18 PM CT-Adam Wainwright improved to 3-2, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 6.1 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Washington Nationals 3-2 on Tuesday. Wainwright struck out five, ending the game with a 3.73 ERA and 1.34 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 24 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Adam Wainwright improved to 2-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 5-2 on Wednesday. Wainwright struck out three, ending the game with a 3.96 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 8:52 PM PT9:52 PM MT10:52 PM CT11:52 PM ET23:52 ET3:52 GMT11:52 8:52 PM MST10:52 PM EST9:52 PM CST11:22 PM VEN7:52 UAE (+1)10:52 PM CT-Adam Wainwright fell to 1-2, allowing four runs - three earned - on eight hits and three walks in 3.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the New York Mets 5-4 on Friday. Wainwright struck out three, ending the game with a 4.74 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 13 7:22 PM PT8:22 PM MT9:22 PM CT10:22 PM ET22:22 ET2:22 GMT10:22 7:22 PM MST9:22 PM EST8:22 PM CST9:52 PM VEN6:22 UAE (+1)9:22 PM CT-Adam Wainwright fell to 1-1, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals lost to the Cincinnati Reds 5-2 on Saturday. Wainwright struck out four, ending the game with a 3.94 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 7 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST3:31 PM CST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Adam Wainwright improved to 1-0, allowing one run on five hits in 6.0 innings, as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the San Diego Padres 4-1 on Sunday. Wainwright struck out nine, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 1 3:02 PM PT4:02 PM MT5:02 PM CT6:02 PM ET18:02 ET22:02 GMT6:02 3:02 PM MST5:02 PM EST4:02 PM CST5:32 PM VEN2:02 UAE (+1)5:02 PM CT-Adam Wainwright allowed four runs on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the St. Louis Cardinals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 6-5 on Monday. Wainwright struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2005 StL 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 2.0 2 3 3 1 1 0 0 1.50 13.50
2006 StL 2 1 3 - 5 61 0 0 75.0 64 26 26 6 22 2 72 1.15 3.12
2007 StL 14 12 0 - 0 32 32 1 202.0 212 93 83 13 70 4 136 1.40 3.70
2008 StL 11 3 0 - 0 20 20 1 132.0 122 51 47 12 34 1 91 1.18 3.20
2009 StL 19 8 0 - 0 34 34 1 233.0 216 75 68 17 66 1 212 1.21 2.63
2010 StL 20 11 0 - 0 33 33 5 230.1 186 68 62 15 56 2 213 1.05 2.42
2012 StL 14 13 0 - 0 32 32 3 198.2 196 96 87 15 52 3 184 1.25 3.94
2013 StL 19 9 0 - 0 34 34 5 241.2 223 83 79 15 35 2 219 1.07 2.94
2014 StL 20 9 0 - 0 32 32 5 227.0 184 64 60 10 50 5 179 1.03 2.38
2015 StL 2 1 0 - 0 7 4 0 28.0 25 7 5 0 4 0 20 1.04 1.61
2016 StL 13 9 0 - 0 33 33 1 198.2 220 108 102 22 59 4 161 1.40 4.62
2017 StL 12 5 0 - 0 24 23 0 123.1 140 73 70 14 45 4 96 1.50 5.11
2018 StL 2 4 0 - 0 8 8 0 40.1 41 21 20 5 18 1 40 1.46 4.46
2019 StL 6 7 0 - 0 17 17 0 94.2 89 43 42 12 37 5 89 1.33 3.99
Career 154 92 3 - 5 369 302 22 2026.2 1920 811 754 157 549 34 1712 1.22 3.35

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 StL 61 6 2 3 1 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 1.167
2007 StL 37 62 4 18 3 0 1 6 3 18 0 1 .290 .323 .387
2008 StL 25 60 5 16 2 0 1 6 2 20 0 1 .267 .286 .350
2009 StL 40 89 7 16 5 1 2 4 1 26 0 0 .180 .189 .326
2010 StL 37 84 4 14 5 0 0 6 7 23 0 0 .167 .231 .226
2012 StL 33 66 5 8 2 0 1 4 3 32 0 0 .121 .159 .197
2013 StL 35 71 4 15 4 0 0 6 0 23 0 0 .211 .208 .268
2014 StL 32 72 4 13 3 0 0 6 3 22 0 0 .181 .213 .222
2015 StL 7 10 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 StL 34 62 6 13 7 1 2 18 2 17 0 0 .210 .234 .452
2017 StL 26 42 7 11 2 0 2 11 1 15 0 0 .262 .279 .452
2018 StL 8 11 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 6 0 0 .091 .091 .091
2019 StL 17 26 3 4 1 0 0 1 2 8 0 0 .154 .214 .192
Career 395 661 51 132 35 2 10 70 24 212 0 2 .200 .227 .304

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2006 StL Total 1 0 4 - 5 9 0 0 9.2 7 0 0 0 2 0 15 0.00
    LDS 0 0 1 - 1 3 0 0 3.2 3 0 0 0 0 0 6 0.00
    LCS 0 0 2 - 2 3 0 0 3.0 2 0 0 0 1 0 4 0.00
    WS 1 0 1 - 2 3 0 0 3.0 2 0 0 0 1 0 5 0.00
2009 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 7 1.13
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.0 3 1 1 1 1 0 7 1.13
2012 StL Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 3 0 15.0 17 8 8 4 3 0 20 4.80
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.0 13 7 7 3 3 0 15 7.88
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 4 1 1 1 0 0 5 1.29
2013 StL Total 2 3 0 - 0 5 5 1 35.0 31 12 10 1 3 0 34 2.57
    LDS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 1 16.0 11 2 2 1 1 0 15 1.13
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.0 6 2 2 0 0 0 5 2.57
    WS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.0 14 8 6 0 2 0 14 4.50
2014 StL Total 0 1 0 - 0 3 3 0 16.0 21 11 10 2 6 0 14 5.40
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 11 6 6 1 1 0 5 12.46
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.2 10 5 4 1 5 0 9 3.09
2015 StL Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 5.1 3 1 1 1 0 0 6 1.69
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 5.1 3 1 1 1 0 0 6 1.69
Career 4 4 4 - 5 24 12 1 89.0 82 33 30 9 15 0 96 3.03

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2009 StL Total 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 StL Total 3 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 2 0 0 .000 .400 .000
    LDS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
    LCS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2013 StL Total 5 9 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 4 0 0 .000 .100 .000
    LDS 2 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 0 0 .000 .167 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 StL Total 3 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 24 18 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 8 0 0 .000 .143 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 609 93 85 89.8 39.49
Curveball 564 79 63 75 36.58
Changeup 21 86 82 83.4 1.36
Split-Finger 9 86 83 85.2 .58
Cut Fastball 339 89 79 85 21.98

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.