MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#34
Jon Lester
ERA W-L K
2.37 4-2 48
Team: Chi CubsHt / Wt: 6-4 / 240
Position: SPBorn: 1/7/1984 Birthplace: Tacoma, Washington
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Red Sox (2002)


Latest News
May 23 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Jon Lester fell to 4-2, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cleveland Indians 1-0 on Wednesday. Lester struck out four, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.19 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Lester (4-1, 2.52) looks to win his third straight start on Wednesday against the Indians.
Analysis: The four-time All-Star allowed a combined two runs over 11 2/3 innings while beating the crosstown White Sox and Cincinnati Reds.
May 19 9:03 PM PT10:03 PM MT11:03 PM CT12:03 AM ET0:03 ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST11:03 PM EST11:33 PM VEN8:03 UAE11:03 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 4-1, allowing one run on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Cincinnati Reds 8-1 on Friday. Lester struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 12 4:58 PM PT5:58 PM MT6:58 PM CT7:58 PM ET19:58 ET23:58 GMT7:58 4:58 PM MST6:58 PM EST7:28 PM VEN3:58 UAE (+1)6:58 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 3-1, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Chicago White Sox 8-4 on Saturday. Lester struck out five, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 1.32 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The four-time All-Star has a 1.82 ERA in his past five starts.
May 7 10:57 PM PT11:57 PM MT12:57 AM CT1:57 AM ET1:57 ET5:57 GMT13:57 10:57 PM MST12:57 AM EST1:27 AM VEN9:57 UAE12:57 AM CT-Jon Lester allowed two runs on six hits and four walks in 5.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-3 on Sunday. Lester struck out four, ending the game with a 2.82 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Jon Lester allowed two runs - zero earned - on five hits and three walks in 5.2 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Colorado Rockies 3-2 on Monday. Lester struck out five, ending the game with a 2.73 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 25 7:04 PM PT8:04 PM MT9:04 PM CT10:04 PM ET22:04 ET2:04 GMT10:04 7:04 PM MST9:04 PM EST9:34 PM VEN6:04 UAE (+1)9:04 PM CT-Jon Lester fell to 2-1, allowing three runs on four hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-1 on Wednesday. Lester struck out four, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.21 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 2-0, allowing one run - zero earned - on two hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the St. Louis Cardinals 8-5 on Thursday. Lester struck out seven, ending the game with a 3.10 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Jon Lester allowed four runs on seven hits and three walks in 5.0 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 13-5 on Wednesday. Lester struck out three, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 8:06 PM PT9:06 PM MT10:06 PM CT11:06 PM ET23:06 ET3:06 GMT11:06 8:06 PM MST10:06 PM EST10:36 PM VEN7:06 UAE (+1)10:06 PM CT-Jon Lester improved to 1-0, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Milwaukee Brewers 8-0 on Thursday. Lester struck out six, ending the game with a 2.89 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Jon Lester allowed four runs - three earned - on seven hits and three walks in 3.1 innings as the Chicago Cubs defeated the Miami Marlins 8-4 on Thursday. Lester struck out two, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2006 Bos 7 2 0 - 0 15 15 0 81.1 91 43 43 7 43 1 60 1.65 4.76
2007 Bos 4 0 0 - 0 12 11 0 63.0 61 33 32 10 31 0 50 1.46 4.57
2008 Bos 16 6 0 - 0 33 33 2 210.1 202 78 75 14 66 1 152 1.27 3.21
2009 Bos 15 8 0 - 0 32 32 2 203.1 186 80 77 20 64 0 225 1.23 3.41
2010 Bos 19 9 0 - 0 32 32 2 208.0 167 81 75 14 83 0 225 1.20 3.25
2011 Bos 15 9 0 - 0 31 31 0 191.2 166 77 74 20 75 0 182 1.26 3.47
2012 Bos 9 14 0 - 0 33 33 3 205.1 216 117 110 25 68 2 166 1.38 4.82
2013 Bos 15 8 0 - 0 33 33 1 213.1 209 94 89 19 67 0 177 1.29 3.75
2014 Bos 10 7 0 - 0 21 21 0 143.0 128 52 40 9 32 0 149 1.12 2.52
2014 Oak 6 4 0 - 0 11 11 1 76.2 66 24 20 7 16 0 71 1.07 2.35
2014 Tot 16 11 0 - 0 32 32 1 219.2 194 76 60 16 48 0 220 1.10 2.46
2015 ChC 11 12 0 - 0 32 32 1 205.0 183 83 76 16 47 0 207 1.12 3.34
2016 ChC 19 5 0 - 0 32 32 2 202.2 154 57 55 21 52 0 197 1.02 2.44
2017 ChC 13 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 180.2 179 101 87 26 60 3 180 1.32 4.33
2018 ChC 4 2 0 - 0 10 10 0 57.0 46 19 15 6 22 1 48 1.19 2.37
Career 163 94 0 - 0 359 358 15 2241.1 2054 939 868 214 726 8 2089 1.24 3.49

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2006 Bos 15 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2008 Bos 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2009 Bos 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2010 Bos 32 3 0 0 0 0 0 1 1 2 0 0 .000 .200 .000
2011 Bos 31 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Bos 33 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bos 33 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bos 21 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Oak 11 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Tot 32 5 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 ChC 32 62 6 4 0 0 0 0 3 30 0 0 .065 .108 .065
2016 ChC 33 59 3 6 3 0 0 6 6 18 0 0 .102 .185 .153
2017 ChC 32 54 5 8 3 0 1 6 4 26 1 0 .148 .203 .259
2018 ChC 11 19 0 2 0 0 0 2 0 6 0 0 .105 .105 .105
Career 361 230 14 20 6 0 1 15 14 102 1 0 .087 .138 .126

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2007 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 3 1 0 9.1 6 2 2 1 4 0 8 1.93
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.2 3 2 2 1 1 0 5 4.91
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 0 0 0 3 0 3 0.00
2008 Bos Total 1 2 0 - 0 4 4 0 26.2 24 9 7 3 5 0 26 2.36
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 10 1 0 0 3 0 11 0.00
    LCS 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 12.2 14 8 7 3 2 0 15 4.97
2009 Bos Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 3 3 1 4 0 5 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 4 3 3 1 4 0 5 4.50
2013 Bos Total 4 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 34.2 25 6 6 3 8 0 29 1.56
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.2 3 2 2 2 3 0 7 2.35
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 11.2 13 3 3 0 4 0 7 2.31
    WS 2 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 15.1 9 1 1 1 1 0 15 0.59
2014 Oak Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 8 6 6 0 2 0 5 7.36
    WC 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 8 6 6 0 2 0 5 7.36
2015 ChC Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 2 0 14.0 13 7 7 3 2 0 14 4.30
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 7.1 5 3 3 1 1 0 9 3.68
    LCS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.2 8 4 4 2 1 0 5 5.40
2016 ChC Total 3 1 0 - 0 6 5 0 35.2 27 9 8 3 6 0 30 2.02
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 8.0 5 0 0 0 0 0 5 0.00
    LCS 1 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 13.0 9 2 2 1 2 0 9 1.38
    WS 1 1 0 - 0 3 2 0 14.2 13 7 6 2 4 0 16 3.68
2017 ChC Total 0 0 0 - 0 3 2 0 14.1 6 3 3 1 8 0 7 1.88
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 3 2 2 1 3 0 5 1.86
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.2 3 1 1 0 5 0 2 1.93
Career 9 7 0 - 0 25 21 0 148.0 113 45 42 15 39 0 124 2.55

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2007 Bos Total 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Bos Total 5 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 ChC Total 2 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 ChC Total 6 7 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 4 0 0 .000 .222 .000
    LDS 1 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 2 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 0 .000 .400 .000
    WS 3 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 ChC Total 3 4 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .250 .250 .250
    LDS 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LCS 1 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .500 .500 .500
Career 25 20 0 1 0 0 0 0 2 10 0 0 .050 .136 .050


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 495 93 87 90.7 52.72
Curveball 125 80 70 74.7 13.31
Changeup 83 87 82 82.6 8.84
Cut Fastball 236 91 84 87.5 25.13

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties