MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#32
Clay Buchholz
ERA W-L K
2.67 5-2 55
Team: ArizonaHt / Wt: 6-3 / 190
Position: SPBorn: 8/14/1984 Birthplace: Nederland, Texas
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Supplemental Round by Red Sox (2005)


Latest News
Aug. 17 10:13 PM PT11:13 PM MT12:13 AM CT1:13 AM ET1:13 ET5:13 GMT13:13 10:13 PM MST12:13 AM EST11:13 PM CST12:43 AM VEN9:13 UAE12:13 AM CT-Clay Buchholz improved to 6-2, allowing one run on five hits in 9.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Diego Padres 5-1 on Thursday. Buchholz struck out six, ending the game with a 2.47 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 6:45 PM PT7:45 PM MT8:45 PM CT9:45 PM ET21:45 ET1:45 GMT9:45 6:45 PM MST8:45 PM EST7:45 PM CST9:15 PM VEN5:45 UAE (+1)8:45 PM CT-Clay Buchholz fell to 5-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on eight hits and two walks in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Cincinnati Reds 3-0 on Friday. Buchholz struck out four, ending the game with a 2.67 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 8:16 PM PT9:16 PM MT10:16 PM CT11:16 PM ET23:16 ET3:16 GMT11:16 8:16 PM MST10:16 PM EST9:16 PM CST10:46 PM VEN7:16 UAE (+1)10:16 PM CT-Clay Buchholz improved to 5-1, allowing two runs on seven hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Francisco Giants 9-3 on Saturday. Buchholz struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.68 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
July 29 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST5:41 PM CST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Clay Buchholz improved to 4-1, allowing three runs on six hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the San Diego Padres 5-4 on Sunday. Buchholz struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 24 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Clay Buchholz improved to 3-1, allowing one run on six hits and two walks in 6.2 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Chicago Cubs 5-1 on Tuesday. Buchholz struck out five, ending the game with a 2.38 ERA and 0.99 WHIP on the season.
June 24 2:00 PM PT3:00 PM MT4:00 PM CT5:00 PM ET17:00 ET21:00 GMT5:00 2:00 PM MST4:00 PM EST3:00 PM CST4:30 PM VEN1:00 UAE (+1)4:00 PM CT-Buchholz (oblique strain) will rejoin the rotation Tuesday against the Cubs.
Analysis: Buchholz pitched five solid innings on June 24 against the Pirates before leaving with the injury. He allowed two hits and struck out five without a walk to earn a 3-0 win and improve to 2-1 with a 2.56 ERA and 0.96 WHIP in seven starts.
June 17 4:39 PM PT5:39 PM MT6:39 PM CT7:39 PM ET19:39 ET23:39 GMT7:39 4:39 PM MST6:39 PM EST5:39 PM CST7:09 PM VEN3:39 UAE (+1)6:39 PM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 5.2 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 5-3 on Sunday. Buchholz struck out three, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 13 10:39 PM PT11:39 PM MT12:39 AM CT1:39 AM ET1:39 ET5:39 GMT13:39 10:39 PM MST12:39 AM EST11:39 PM CST1:09 AM VEN9:39 UAE12:39 AM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed six runs - two earned - on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 13-8 on Tuesday. Buchholz struck out two, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
June 6 4:27 PM PT5:27 PM MT6:27 PM CT7:27 PM ET19:27 ET23:27 GMT7:27 4:27 PM MST6:27 PM EST5:27 PM CST6:57 PM VEN3:27 UAE (+1)6:27 PM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Buchholz struck out seven, ending the game with a 1.88 ERA and 0.83 WHIP on the season.
June 2 9:21 PM PT10:21 PM MT11:21 PM CT12:21 AM ET0:21 ET4:21 GMT12:21 9:21 PM MST11:21 PM EST10:21 PM CST11:51 PM VEN8:21 UAE11:21 PM CT-Clay Buchholz improved to 1-1, allowing one run on six hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks defeated the Miami Marlins 9-1 on Friday. Buchholz struck out nine, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 0.67 WHIP on the season.
May 26 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST4:25 PM CST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Clay Buchholz fell to 0-1, allowing one run on two hits in 6.0 innings, as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the Oakland Athletics 3-0 on Saturday. Buchholz struck out three, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 0.45 WHIP on the season.
May 20 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Clay Buchholz allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Arizona Diamondbacks lost to the New York Mets 4-1 on Sunday. Buchholz struck out two, ending the game with a 1.80 ERA and 0.60 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 20 3:40 PM PT4:40 PM MT5:40 PM CT6:40 PM ET18:40 ET22:40 GMT6:40 3:40 PM MST5:40 PM EST4:40 PM CST6:10 PM VEN2:40 UAE (+1)4:40 PM CT-Buchholz and the Kansas City Royals have finalized a minor league contract.
Analysis: Buchholz made two starts for the Phillies last season and needed surgery to repair a torn flexor tendon in his right forearm. He was 0-1 with a 12.27 ERA in 7 1/3 innings.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2007 Bos 3 1 0 - 0 4 3 1 22.2 14 6 4 0 10 0 22 1.06 1.59
2008 Bos 2 9 0 - 0 16 15 1 76.0 93 63 57 11 41 1 72 1.76 6.75
2009 Bos 7 4 0 - 0 16 16 0 92.0 91 44 43 13 36 1 68 1.38 4.21
2010 Bos 17 7 0 - 0 28 28 1 173.2 142 55 45 9 67 1 120 1.20 2.33
2011 Bos 6 3 0 - 0 14 14 0 82.2 76 34 32 10 31 1 60 1.29 3.48
2012 Bos 11 8 0 - 0 29 29 2 189.1 187 104 96 25 64 2 129 1.33 4.56
2013 Bos 12 1 0 - 0 16 16 1 108.1 75 23 21 4 36 0 96 1.02 1.74
2014 Bos 8 11 0 - 0 28 28 2 170.1 182 108 101 17 54 2 132 1.39 5.34
2015 Bos 7 7 0 - 0 18 18 1 113.1 114 48 41 6 23 0 107 1.21 3.26
2016 Bos 8 10 0 - 0 37 21 0 139.1 130 80 74 21 55 1 93 1.33 4.78
2017 Phi 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 7.1 16 10 10 1 3 0 5 2.59 12.27
2018 Ari 6 2 0 - 0 12 12 1 73.0 62 22 20 8 16 1 61 1.07 2.47
Career 87 64 0 - 0 220 202 10 1248.0 1182 597 544 125 436 10 965 1.30 3.92

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Bos 28 1 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1.000 1.000 1.000
2012 Bos 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Bos 28 2 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .500 .500 .500
2015 Bos 18 6 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Bos 37 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 2 0 0 .000 .333 .000
2017 Phi 2 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Ari 12 23 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 12 0 0 .043 .043 .043
Career 221 38 0 3 0 0 0 0 1 19 0 0 .079 .103 .079

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2009 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 3 3.60
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 6 2 2 1 1 0 3 3.60
2013 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 4 4 0 20.2 22 11 10 3 8 1 17 4.35
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 6.0 7 3 3 1 3 0 5 4.50
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 2 2 0 10.2 12 7 7 2 2 0 10 5.91
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 3 1 0 0 3 1 2 0.00
2016 Bos Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 6 2 2 0 1 0 4 4.50
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 6 2 2 0 1 0 4 4.50
Career 0 1 0 - 0 6 6 0 29.2 34 15 14 4 10 1 24 4.25

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Bos Total 4 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 442 93 87 90.1 41.9
Curveball 191 79 73 75.9 18.1
Changeup 174 80 73 77.3 16.49
Split-Finger 1 86 86 86 .09
Cut Fastball 247 88 81 85.8 23.41

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties