MLB Baseball

#50
Charlie Morton
ERA W-L K
3.16 15-6 223
Team: Tampa BayHt / Wt: 6-5 / 215
Position: SPBorn: 11/12/1983 Birthplace: Flemington, New Jersey
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Braves (2002)


Latest News
Sep. 14 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST11:19 PM CST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 15-6, allowing three runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Los Angeles Angels 11-4 on Friday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.16 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 6:19 PM PT7:19 PM MT8:19 PM CT9:19 PM ET21:19 ET1:19 GMT9:19 6:19 PM MST8:19 PM EST7:19 PM CST8:49 PM VEN5:19 UAE (+1)8:19 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Saturday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 1:14 PM PT2:14 PM MT3:14 PM CT4:14 PM ET16:14 ET20:14 GMT4:14 1:14 PM MST3:14 PM EST2:14 PM CST3:44 PM VEN0:14 UAE (+1)3:14 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 14-6, allowing one run on four hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Cleveland Indians 8-2 on Sunday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.06 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 27 8:25 PM PT9:25 PM MT10:25 PM CT11:25 PM ET23:25 ET3:25 GMT11:25 8:25 PM MST10:25 PM EST9:25 PM CST10:55 PM VEN7:25 UAE (+1)10:25 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 13-6, allowing six runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Houston Astros 15-1 on Tuesday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 3.11 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 1:12 PM PT2:12 PM MT3:12 PM CT4:12 PM ET16:12 ET20:12 GMT4:12 1:12 PM MST3:12 PM EST2:12 PM CST3:42 PM VEN0:12 UAE (+1)3:12 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed three runs on four hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Seattle Mariners 7-6 on Wednesday. Morton struck out three, ending the game with a 2.85 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 16 6:43 PM PT7:43 PM MT8:43 PM CT9:43 PM ET21:43 ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST8:43 PM EST7:43 PM CST9:13 PM VEN5:43 UAE (+1)8:43 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 13-5, allowing one run - zero earned - on three hits in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Detroit Tigers 2-0 on Friday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 13-4, allowing four runs on nine hits in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Seattle Mariners 5-4 on Saturday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.90 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 7:00 PM PT8:00 PM MT9:00 PM CT10:00 PM ET22:00 ET2:00 GMT10:00 7:00 PM MST9:00 PM EST8:00 PM CST9:30 PM VEN6:00 UAE (+1)9:00 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 12-4, allowing two runs on seven hits in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 2-0 on Monday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.77 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Tuesday. Morton struck out two, ending the game with a 2.78 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
July 24 1:43 PM PT2:43 PM MT3:43 PM CT4:43 PM ET16:43 ET20:43 GMT4:43 1:43 PM MST3:43 PM EST2:43 PM CST4:13 PM VEN0:43 UAE (+1)3:43 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 12-3, allowing two runs on five hits in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 3-2 on Wednesday. Morton struck out 11, ending the game with a 2.60 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 18 7:49 PM PT8:49 PM MT9:49 PM CT10:49 PM ET22:49 ET2:49 GMT10:49 7:49 PM MST9:49 PM EST8:49 PM CST10:19 PM VEN6:49 UAE (+1)9:49 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 11-3, allowing five runs on five hits and four walks in 5.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 5-1 on Thursday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 2.61 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
July 13 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 11-2, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 12-4 on Saturday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 2.35 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 7 1:13 PM PT2:13 PM MT3:13 PM CT4:13 PM ET16:13 ET20:13 GMT4:13 1:13 PM MST3:13 PM EST2:13 PM CST3:43 PM VEN0:13 UAE (+1)3:13 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 10-2, allowing one run on five hits and one walk in 5.2 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the New York Yankees 2-1 on Sunday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.32 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
July 2 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 9-2, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Baltimore Orioles 6-3 on Tuesday. Morton struck out 12, ending the game with a 2.36 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 26 8:11 PM PT9:11 PM MT10:11 PM CT11:11 PM ET23:11 ET3:11 GMT11:11 8:11 PM MST10:11 PM EST9:11 PM CST10:41 PM VEN7:11 UAE (+1)10:11 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 8-2, allowing five runs - three earned - on eight hits and one walk in 6.1 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-4 on Wednesday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.43 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
June 21 10:11 PM PT11:11 PM MT12:11 AM CT1:11 AM ET1:11 ET5:11 GMT13:11 10:11 PM MST12:11 AM EST11:11 PM CST12:41 AM VEN9:11 UAE12:11 AM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on four hits and two walks in 6.1 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Oakland Athletics 5-4 on Thursday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 2.31 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 15 12:54 PM PT1:54 PM MT2:54 PM CT3:54 PM ET15:54 ET19:54 GMT3:54 12:54 PM MST2:54 PM EST1:54 PM CST3:24 PM VEN23:54 UAE2:54 PM CT-Charlie Morton fell to 8-1, allowing four runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 5-3 on Saturday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.37 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 10 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 8-0, allowing two hits and two walks over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Oakland Athletics 6-2 on Monday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.10 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 5 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 7-0, allowing five hits over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Detroit Tigers 4-0 on Wednesday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.30 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 30 6:57 PM PT7:57 PM MT8:57 PM CT9:57 PM ET21:57 ET1:57 GMT9:57 6:57 PM MST8:57 PM EST7:57 PM CST9:27 PM VEN5:57 UAE (+1)8:57 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 6-0, allowing two runs on four hits in 7.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Minnesota Twins 14-3 on Thursday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
May 25 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST7:56 PM CST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 5-0, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Cleveland Indians 6-2 on Saturday. Morton struck out 10, ending the game with a 2.54 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
May 19 1:45 PM PT2:45 PM MT3:45 PM CT4:45 PM ET16:45 ET20:45 GMT4:45 1:45 PM MST3:45 PM EST2:45 PM CST4:15 PM VEN0:45 UAE (+1)3:45 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed five runs - three earned - on four hits and four walks in 4.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 13-5 on Sunday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 2.65 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:06 PM PT8:06 PM MT9:06 PM CT10:06 PM ET22:06 ET2:06 GMT10:06 7:06 PM MST9:06 PM EST8:06 PM CST9:36 PM VEN6:06 UAE (+1)9:06 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 4-0, allowing three hits over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Miami Marlins 4-0 on Tuesday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 2.32 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
May 8 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET17:53 ET21:53 GMT5:53 2:53 PM MST4:53 PM EST3:53 PM CST5:23 PM VEN1:53 UAE (+1)4:53 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed two runs on seven hits and four walks in 5.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Wednesday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.64 ERA and 1.22 WHIP on the season.
May 2 1:51 PM PT2:51 PM MT3:51 PM CT4:51 PM ET16:51 ET20:51 GMT4:51 1:51 PM MST3:51 PM EST2:51 PM CST4:21 PM VEN0:51 UAE (+1)3:51 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on five hits and one walk in 6.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Thursday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 2.52 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 27 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 3-0, allowing two hits and four walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Boston Red Sox 2-1 on Saturday. Morton struck out five, ending the game with a 2.76 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 6:26 PM PT7:26 PM MT8:26 PM CT9:26 PM ET21:26 ET1:26 GMT9:26 6:26 PM MST8:26 PM EST7:26 PM CST8:56 PM VEN5:26 UAE (+1)8:26 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed five runs on five hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-5 on Saturday. Morton struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 14 1:54 PM PT2:54 PM MT3:54 PM CT4:54 PM ET16:54 ET20:54 GMT4:54 1:54 PM MST3:54 PM EST2:54 PM CST4:24 PM VEN0:54 UAE (+1)3:54 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed one run on four hits and three walks in 4.2 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4 on Sunday. Morton struck out four, ending the game with a 2.18 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 3:09 PM PT4:09 PM MT5:09 PM CT6:09 PM ET18:09 ET22:09 GMT6:09 3:09 PM MST5:09 PM EST4:09 PM CST5:39 PM VEN2:09 UAE (+1)5:09 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on three hits and three walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Chicago White Sox 10-5 on Tuesday. Morton struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.25 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 1:32 PM PT2:32 PM MT3:32 PM CT4:32 PM ET16:32 ET20:32 GMT4:32 1:32 PM MST3:32 PM EST2:32 PM CST4:02 PM VEN0:32 UAE (+1)3:32 PM CT-Charlie Morton allowed four hits and two walks without giving up a run in 6.0 innings as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Colorado Rockies 1-0 on Wednesday. Morton struck out six, ending the game with a 1.64 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 6:50 PM PT7:50 PM MT8:50 PM CT9:50 PM ET21:50 ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST8:50 PM EST7:50 PM CST9:20 PM VEN5:50 UAE (+1)7:50 PM CT-Charlie Morton improved to 1-0, allowing two runs on three hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Tampa Bay Rays defeated the Houston Astros 4-2 on Friday. Morton struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.60 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2008 Atl 4 8 0 - 0 16 15 0 74.2 80 56 51 9 41 2 48 1.62 6.15
2009 Pit 5 9 0 - 0 18 18 1 97.0 102 49 49 7 40 0 62 1.46 4.55
2010 Pit 2 12 0 - 0 17 17 0 79.2 112 79 67 15 26 3 59 1.73 7.57
2011 Pit 10 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 171.2 186 82 73 6 77 5 110 1.53 3.83
2012 Pit 2 6 0 - 0 9 9 0 50.1 62 30 26 5 11 1 25 1.45 4.65
2013 Pit 7 4 0 - 0 20 20 0 116.0 113 51 42 6 36 1 85 1.28 3.26
2014 Pit 6 12 0 - 0 26 26 0 157.1 143 76 65 9 57 2 126 1.27 3.72
2015 Pit 9 9 0 - 0 23 23 0 129.0 137 77 69 13 41 6 96 1.38 4.81
2016 Phi 1 1 0 - 0 4 4 0 17.1 15 8 8 1 8 0 19 1.33 4.15
2017 Hou 14 7 0 - 0 25 25 0 146.2 125 65 59 14 50 1 163 1.19 3.62
2018 Hou 15 3 0 - 0 30 30 0 167.0 130 63 58 18 64 0 201 1.16 3.13
2019 TB 15 6 0 - 0 31 31 0 182.1 148 69 64 14 53 0 223 1.10 3.16
Career 90 87 0 - 0 248 247 3 1389.0 1353 705 631 117 504 21 1217 1.34 4.09

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2008 Atl 16 17 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 9 0 1 .059 .059 .118
2009 Pit 18 31 1 4 0 0 0 1 0 15 0 0 .129 .129 .129
2010 Pit 17 26 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 18 0 0 .038 .038 .038
2011 Pit 29 50 0 4 3 0 0 2 1 29 0 0 .080 .094 .140
2012 Pit 9 13 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 Pit 20 36 1 5 0 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .139 .139 .139
2014 Pit 26 40 1 2 0 0 0 1 1 21 0 0 .050 .073 .050
2015 Pit 23 36 0 1 0 0 0 1 1 18 0 0 .028 .054 .028
2016 Phi 4 6 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Hou 25 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2018 Hou 30 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 5 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2019 TB 31 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 248 266 4 20 4 0 0 6 3 139 0 1 .075 .085 .090

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Pit Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.2 3 2 2 1 4 0 4 3.18
2017 Hou Total 2 1 0 - 0 5 4 0 23.1 20 11 11 2 6 0 25 4.24
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.1 7 2 2 1 2 0 6 4.15
    LCS 1 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 8.2 8 7 7 1 3 0 8 7.27
    WS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 10.1 5 2 2 0 1 0 11 1.74
2018 Hou Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 3 3 3 0 2 0 2 11.57
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 2.1 3 3 3 0 2 0 2 11.57
Career 2 2 0 - 0 7 6 0 31.1 26 16 16 3 12 0 31 4.60

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Pit Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2017 Hou Total 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    WS 2 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 7 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1430 98 91 94.4 48.72
Curveball 1089 82 75 78.7 37.1
Changeup 100 87 82 84.9 3.41
Cut Fastball 316 89 81 85.4 10.77

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.