MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#58
Jeremy Hellickson
ERA W-L K
3.57 5-3 64
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-1 / 203
Position: SPBorn: 4/8/1987 Birthplace: Des Moines, Iowa
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Devil Rays (2005)


Latest News
Aug. 17 2:38 PM PT3:38 PM MT4:38 PM CT5:38 PM ET17:38 ET21:38 GMT5:38 2:38 PM MST4:38 PM EST3:38 PM CST5:08 PM VEN1:38 UAE (+1)4:38 PM CT-Hellickson is headed to the DL with a sprained wrist.
Analysis: Hellickson exited early after colliding with Cardinals outfielder Harrison Bader at the plate. Hellickson was covering home after a wild pitch. He stumbled over Bader as Bader slid home safely.
Aug. 15 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST9:27 PM CST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson fell to 5-3, allowing three runs - two earned - on three hits and two walks in 4.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the St. Louis Cardinals 4-2 on Wednesday. Hellickson struck out two, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Hellickson exited early after colliding with Cardinals outfielder Harrison Bader at the plate. Hellickson was covering home after a wild pitch. He stumbled over Bader as Bader slid home safely. He will have an MRI on his sore right wrist on Friday
Aug. 10 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST3:34 PM CST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed two runs on zero hits and four walks in 5.2 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Chicago Cubs 3-2 on Friday. Hellickson struck out three, ending the game with a 3.54 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 4 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson improved to 5-2, allowing two runs on four hits in 5.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-2 on Saturday. Hellickson struck out three, ending the game with a 3.56 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 29 12:59 PM PT1:59 PM MT2:59 PM CT3:59 PM ET15:59 ET19:59 GMT3:59 12:59 PM MST2:59 PM EST1:59 PM CST3:29 PM VEN23:59 UAE2:59 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson fell to 4-2, allowing five runs - three earned - on eight hits in 4.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Miami Marlins 5-0 on Sunday. Hellickson struck out four, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
July 25 9:05 PM PT10:05 PM MT11:05 PM CT12:05 AM ET0:05 ET4:05 GMT12:05 9:05 PM MST11:05 PM EST10:05 PM CST11:35 PM VEN8:05 UAE11:05 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed three runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 5-4 on Tuesday. Hellickson struck out three, ending the game with a 3.44 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 15 1:55 PM PT2:55 PM MT3:55 PM CT4:55 PM ET16:55 ET20:55 GMT4:55 1:55 PM MST3:55 PM EST2:55 PM CST4:25 PM VEN0:55 UAE (+1)3:55 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson improved to 4-1, allowing one run on two hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 6-1 on Sunday. Hellickson struck out six, ending the game with a 3.29 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
July 10 8:20 PM PT9:20 PM MT10:20 PM CT11:20 PM ET23:20 ET3:20 GMT11:20 8:20 PM MST10:20 PM EST9:20 PM CST10:50 PM VEN7:20 UAE (+1)10:20 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson improved to 3-1, allowing two hits and one walk over 5.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 5-1 on Tuesday. Hellickson struck out three, ending the game with a 3.47 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
July 5 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST8:28 PM CST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed nine runs - eight earned - on nine hits and one walk in 4.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Miami Marlins 14-12 on Thursday. Hellickson struck out two, ending the game with a 3.81 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
June 30 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson fell to 2-1, allowing three runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 3-2 on Saturday. Hellickson struck out four, ending the game with a 2.63 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 3 11:41 AM PT12:41 PM MT1:41 PM CT2:41 PM ET14:41 ET18:41 GMT2:41 11:41 AM MST1:41 PM EST12:41 PM CST2:11 PM VEN22:41 UAE1:41 PM CT-The Nationals plan to activate Hellickson (right hamstring strain) from the DL to start Saturday at Philadelphia.
Analysis: The Nationals weren't concerned about Hellickson's rehab start for Class A Potomac on Sunday, in which he was tagged for 11 runs and nine hits over 4 2/3 innings. The former Phillie pitched very well before hitting the DL earlier this month, posting a 2-0 record and a 2.28 ERA over nine starts.
May 29 7:23 PM PT8:23 PM MT9:23 PM CT10:23 PM ET22:23 ET2:23 GMT10:23 7:23 PM MST9:23 PM EST8:23 PM CST9:53 PM VEN6:23 UAE (+1)9:23 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson improved to 2-0, allowing two runs on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 3-2 on Tuesday. Hellickson struck out three, ending the game with a 2.30 ERA and 0.93 WHIP on the season.
May 22 7:09 PM PT8:09 PM MT9:09 PM CT10:09 PM ET22:09 ET2:09 GMT10:09 7:09 PM MST9:09 PM EST8:09 PM CST9:39 PM VEN6:09 UAE (+1)9:09 PM CT-Hellickson, who left his previous start after developing a blister in the sixth inning, is scheduled to make his next start Tuesday at Baltimore.
Analysis: Though Hellickson owns a 5.80 career ERA at Camden Yards, his home park for the second half of last season, he's been pitching great lately while the Orioles continue to be bad. The right-hander has yielded only two runs across 22 2/3 innings over his last four starts, posting a stellar 0.66 WHIP as well during that stretch.
May 13 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed one run on three hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-4 on Sunday. Hellickson struck out five, ending the game with a 2.20 ERA and 0.86 WHIP on the season.
May 9 9:44 PM PT10:44 PM MT11:44 PM CT12:44 AM ET0:44 ET4:44 GMT12:44 9:44 PM MST11:44 PM EST10:44 PM CST12:14 AM VEN8:44 UAE11:44 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson improved to 1-0, allowing two hits over 6.2 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Diego Padres 4-0 on Tuesday. Hellickson struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.28 ERA and 0.87 WHIP on the season.
May 3 12:49 PM PT1:49 PM MT2:49 PM CT3:49 PM ET15:49 ET19:49 GMT3:49 12:49 PM MST2:49 PM EST1:49 PM CST3:19 PM VEN23:49 UAE2:49 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed three hits without giving up a run in 5.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 3-1 on Thursday. Hellickson struck out four, ending the game with a 3.00 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 4:26 PM PT5:26 PM MT6:26 PM CT7:26 PM ET19:26 ET23:26 GMT7:26 4:26 PM MST6:26 PM EST5:26 PM CST6:56 PM VEN3:26 UAE (+1)6:26 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed two runs on five hits and one walk in 5.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 4-3 on Saturday. Hellickson struck out one, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.24 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed three runs on three hits and two walks in 5.1 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 4-3 on Sunday. Hellickson struck out five, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 7:47 PM PT8:47 PM MT9:47 PM CT10:47 PM ET22:47 ET2:47 GMT10:47 7:47 PM MST9:47 PM EST8:47 PM CST10:17 PM VEN6:47 UAE (+1)9:47 PM CT-Jeremy Hellickson allowed two runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.2 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 8-6 on Monday. Hellickson struck out three, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 16 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST5:03 PM CST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)5:03 PM CT-A person familiar with the deal says Hellickson and the Washington Nationals have agreed to a minor league contract. The person spoke to The Associated Press on condition of anonymity because the agreement had not yet been announced.
Analysis: The right-hander was 8-11 with a 5.43 ERA last year in 30 starts for Philadelphia and Baltimore, which acquired him July 28. Hellickson was 2-6 with a 6.97 ERA in 10 starts with the Orioles.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 TB 4 0 0 - 1 10 4 0 36.1 32 14 14 5 8 2 33 1.10 3.47
2011 TB 13 10 0 - 0 29 29 2 189.0 146 64 62 21 72 8 117 1.15 2.95
2012 TB 10 11 0 - 0 31 31 0 177.0 163 68 61 25 59 3 124 1.25 3.10
2013 TB 12 10 0 - 0 32 31 0 174.0 185 103 100 24 50 0 135 1.35 5.17
2014 TB 1 5 0 - 0 13 13 0 63.2 71 35 32 8 21 1 54 1.45 4.52
2015 Ari 9 12 0 - 0 27 27 0 146.0 151 79 75 22 43 3 121 1.33 4.62
2016 Phi 12 10 0 - 0 32 32 1 189.0 173 86 78 24 45 0 154 1.15 3.71
2017 Phi 6 5 0 - 0 20 20 0 112.1 111 62 59 22 30 2 65 1.26 4.73
2017 Bal 2 6 0 - 0 10 10 0 51.2 49 43 40 13 17 0 31 1.28 6.97
2017 Tot 8 11 0 - 0 30 30 0 164.0 160 105 99 35 47 2 96 1.26 5.43
2018 Was 5 3 0 - 0 18 18 0 88.1 76 40 35 11 19 1 64 1.08 3.57
Career 74 72 0 - 1 222 215 3 1227.1 1157 594 556 175 364 20 898 1.24 4.08

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2011 TB 29 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 TB 31 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2013 TB 32 3 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .333
2015 Ari 29 41 3 9 0 0 0 7 2 14 0 0 .220 .283 .220
2016 Phi 32 54 3 9 1 0 0 4 4 24 0 0 .167 .224 .185
2017 Phi 20 33 1 3 1 1 0 2 3 9 0 0 .091 .167 .182
2017 Tot 30 33 1 3 1 1 0 2 3 9 0 0 .091 .167 .182
2018 Was 18 30 0 2 1 0 0 1 0 11 0 0 .067 .067 .100
Career 224 164 7 24 3 1 0 14 9 61 0 0 .146 .199 .177

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2011 TB Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 3 1 0 1 6.75
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 3 1 0 1 6.75
2013 TB Total 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 1.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 0 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 2 2 0 5.0 5 3 3 3 3 0 1 5.40


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 549 93 82 89.7 41.59
Curveball 314 82 68 76.6 23.79
Changeup 315 85 77 81.2 23.86
Cut Fastball 142 90 82 87.1 10.76

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties