MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#37
Stephen Strasburg
ERA W-L K
3.25 10-3 141
Team: WashingtonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 235 NFBC ADP: 50.27
Position: SPBorn: 7/20/1988 Birthplace: San Diego, California
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 1st Round by Nationals (2009)


Latest News
July 24 7:23 AM PT8:23 AM MT9:23 AM CT10:23 AM ET10:23 ET14:23 GMT22:23 7:23 AM MST9:23 AM EST9:53 AM VEN18:23 UAE9:23 AM CT-Stephen Strasburg allowed one hit and three walks without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Arizona Diamondbacks 6-2 on Sunday. Strasburg struck out two, ending the game with a 3.25 ERA and 1.12 WHIP on the season.
July 23 2:49 PM PT3:49 PM MT4:49 PM CT5:49 PM ET17:49 ET21:49 GMT5:49 2:49 PM MST4:49 PM EST5:19 PM VEN1:49 UAE (+1)4:49 PM CT-Strasburg left his start Sunday against Arizona after two innings. After the game, Strasburg said his early departure was a precaution. He described the problem as slight ''achiness'' in his forearm. Strasburg said he wants to ''nip it in the bud'' so he's available to the team in the crucial stages of the late season.
Analysis: Strasburg noticeably had problems with his command in the second inning, walking the No. 8 and 9 batters. Strasburg threw 51 pitches, 29 strikes, in his shortest outing of the season. He entered the game with a 10-3 record and a 3.31 ERA.
July 17 1:36 PM PT2:36 PM MT3:36 PM CT4:36 PM ET16:36 ET20:36 GMT4:36 1:36 PM MST3:36 PM EST4:06 PM VEN0:36 UAE (+1)3:36 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 10-3, allowing one run on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-1 on Monday. Strasburg struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.31 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg recovered after he left his last start - a 13-0 loss to Atlanta on July 8 - after a liner deflected off his hip in the third inning. He only allowed three earned runs in that game and has a 2.25 ERA in his past four outings with 30 strikeouts over 24 innings.
July 8 5:09 PM PT6:09 PM MT7:09 PM CT8:09 PM ET20:09 ET0:09 GMT8:09 5:09 PM MST7:09 PM EST7:39 PM VEN4:09 UAE (+1)7:09 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg fell to 9-3, allowing six runs - three earned - on seven hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 13-0 on Saturday. Strasburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.43 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg suffered his first loss in six starts in his shortest outing of the season. He also failed to record a strikeout for the first time in 2017.
July 3 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg allowed two hits and three walks without giving up a run in 7.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 3-2 on Monday. Strasburg struck out six, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg and Steven Matz each tossed seven scoreless innings in their respective no-decisions. Srasburg has a 1.29 ERA in his last two starts after posting a 7.63 mark in his previous three.
June 29 9:02 PM PT10:02 PM MT11:02 PM CT12:02 AM ET0:02 ET4:02 GMT12:02 9:02 PM MST11:02 PM EST11:32 PM VEN8:02 UAE11:02 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 9-2, allowing three runs - two earned - on four hits and one walk in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Chicago Cubs 8-4 on Wednesday. Strasburg struck out 13, ending the game with a 3.51 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg initially felt his back spasm while sitting on the bench in the fourth inning. Keep an eye on how he feels in the days that follow this outing.
June 23 8:10 PM PT9:10 PM MT10:10 PM CT11:10 PM ET23:10 ET3:10 GMT11:10 8:10 PM MST10:10 PM EST10:40 PM VEN7:10 UAE (+1)10:10 PM CT-Strasburg allowed five runs on eight hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Cincinnati Reds 6-5 on Friday. Strasburg struck out five, ending the game with a 3.57 ERA and 1.13 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He has allowed at least five runs in two of his last three starts.
June 18 10:14 PM PT11:14 PM MT12:14 AM CT1:14 AM ET1:14 ET5:14 GMT13:14 10:14 PM MST12:14 AM EST12:44 AM VEN9:14 UAE12:14 AM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 8-2, allowing two runs on six hits and two walks in 5.1 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the New York Mets 7-4 on Saturday. Strasburg struck out five, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg was able to minimize damage in his 106-pitch stint, which followed a loss to the Braves in which he allowed a season-high six runs in five innings. He's still 8-2 and is averaging over 10 strikeouts per nine innings, plus he gets the lowly Reds at home next time out. If you're an owner looking to trade him, now may not be the best time.
June 13 10:19 PM PT11:19 PM MT12:19 AM CT1:19 AM ET1:19 ET5:19 GMT13:19 10:19 PM MST12:19 AM EST12:49 AM VEN9:19 UAE12:19 AM CT-Stephen Strasburg allowed six runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings as the Washington Nationals lost to the Atlanta Braves 11-10 on Monday. Strasburg struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.27 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg's string of five consecutive quality starts - a stretch in which he went 4-1 with a 2.14 ERA and racked up 44 strikeouts in 33 2/3 innings - came to an end. The two-time All-Star hasn't had two bad outings in a row yet this season, so owners should still feel confident heading into Saturday's matchup with the Mets.
June 7 3:57 PM PT4:57 PM MT5:57 PM CT6:57 PM ET18:57 ET22:57 GMT6:57 3:57 PM MST5:57 PM EST6:27 PM VEN2:57 UAE (+1)5:57 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg fell to 7-2, allowing two runs - one earned - on three hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 2-1 on Wednesday. Strasburg struck out eight, ending the game with a 2.80 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg was saddled with his first loss since April 29 despite another strong showing. In his last four outings, the hard-throwing right-hander has a 1.63 ERA and 0.76 WHIP with 41 strikeouts over 27.2 innings. That stretch began in Atlanta on May 21, and his next start comes Monday against the Braves.
June 3 10:22 AM PT11:22 AM MT12:22 PM CT1:22 PM ET13:22 ET17:22 GMT1:22 10:22 AM MST12:22 PM EST12:52 PM VEN21:22 UAE12:22 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 7-1, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Oakland Athletics 13-3 on Friday. Strasburg struck out seven, ending the game with a 2.91 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg won his fourth straight start, and has 36 strikeouts over 27.2 innings in that span. He next takes the ball Wednesday at Dodger Stadium, and in his only start against Los Angeles last season he gave up six runs in six innings.
May 27 5:59 PM PT6:59 PM MT7:59 PM CT8:59 PM ET20:59 ET0:59 GMT8:59 5:59 PM MST7:59 PM EST8:29 PM VEN4:59 UAE (+1)7:59 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 6-1, allowing three hits and one walk over 7.0 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the San Diego Padres 3-0 on Saturday. Strasburg struck out a career-high 15, ending the game with a 2.94 ERA and 1.05 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg previously struck out 14 batters twice including his major league debut on June 8, 2010. He is 3-0 with a 2.18 ERA in his last three starts, striking out 29 over 20 2/3 innings.
May 21 5:40 PM PT6:40 PM MT7:40 PM CT8:40 PM ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 PM MST7:40 PM EST8:10 PM VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 5-1, allowing two runs on five hits and one walk in 7.2 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-2 on Sunday. Strasburg struck out 11, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg reached double digits in strikeouts for the second time this season after fanning 10 Braves on April 20. He beat Atlanta for the second time this season and improved to 7-1 in his last nine starts against the Braves. Strasburg makes his next start Saturday against his hometown Padres, who he hasn't faced since 2015. He has a 2.81 ERA with 38 strikeouts over 32 innings in winning his last five starts against San Diego.
May 16 7:56 PM PT8:56 PM MT9:56 PM CT10:56 PM ET22:56 ET2:56 GMT10:56 7:56 PM MST9:56 PM EST10:26 PM VEN6:56 UAE (+1)9:56 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 4-1, allowing three runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Pittsburgh Pirates 8-4 on Tuesday. Strasburg struck out three, ending the game with a 3.42 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: The three strikeouts were a bit disappointing after Strasburg fanned nine over six innings in his previous start, but the bottom line is he's healthy and winning games. He'll next face a Braves team he recorded 10 strikeouts against while earning a victory with seven innings of two-run ball back on April 20.
May 10 8:45 PM PT9:45 PM MT10:45 PM CT11:45 PM ET23:45 ET3:45 GMT11:45 8:45 PM MST10:45 PM EST11:15 PM VEN7:45 UAE (+1)10:45 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg allowed a season-high five runs on eight hits and two walks in 6.0 innings as the Washington Nationals defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Wednesday. Strasburg struck out nine, ending the game with a 3.28 ERA and 1.16 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg had given up just five runs over 19 2/3 innings over his previous three outings. He makes his next start Tuesday at Pittsburgh, and in six career starts versus the Pirates, the right-hander is 3-2 with a 2.51 ERA and 0.79 WHIP, striking out 60 in 43 innings.
May 5 8:08 PM PT9:08 PM MT10:08 PM CT11:08 PM ET23:08 ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST10:08 PM EST10:38 PM VEN7:08 UAE (+1)10:08 PM CT-Stephen Strasburg improved to 3-1, allowing five hits and four walks over 5.2 scoreless innings, as the Washington Nationals defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 4-2 on Friday. Strasburg struck out five, ending the game with a 2.66 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season. Strasburg called out the training staff with one out in the sixth after appearing to tweak his left calf on a pitch, but he remained in the game.
Analysis: Strasburg helped his cause with a solo home run, the second of his career. He had his night cut short thanks to poor command, and it was the first time he failed to go seven innings this year.
Apr. 29 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Strasburg fell to 2-1, allowing three runs on six hits in 7.0 innings, as the Washington Nationals lost to the New York Mets 5-3 on Saturday. Strasburg struck out two, ending the game with a 3.09 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Strasburg was back from the birth of his second child. He has gone seven innings in all five starts this year.
Apr. 23 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET20:32 ET0:32 GMT8:32 5:32 PM MST7:32 PM EST8:02 PM VEN4:32 UAE (+1)7:32 PM CT-The Washington Nationals have reinstated right-hander Stephen Strasburg from the paternity list after the birth of his second child.
Analysis: Strasburg is scheduled to throw Saturday against the New York Mets. He is 2-0 with a 2.89 ERA this season. The 28-year-old Strasburg and his wife, Rachel, welcomed their second daughter earlier this week.
Apr. 20 8:57 PM PT9:57 PM MT10:57 PM CT11:57 PM ET23:57 ET3:57 GMT11:57 8:57 PM MST10:57 PM EST11:27 PM VEN7:57 UAE (+1)10:57 PM CT-Strasburg struck out 10 and the Nationals completed a three-game sweep with a 3-2 victory over the Braves on Thursday night. He allowed two runs over seven innings while giving up six hits and walking two. He threw 76 of his 103 pitches for strikes.
Analysis: Strasburg has gone seven innings in each of his four starts, and now has 29 strikeouts on the season and a 1.04 WHIP. On Tuesday, he'll return to the site of the worst start of his career. Last Aug. 17 at Coors Field, Strasburg was tagged for nine runs and nine hits in 1 2/3 innings.
Apr. 14 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Strasburg got a no-decision Friday against the Phillies after yielding two runs and striking out eight in seven innings. He allowed five hits and two walks.
Analysis: A switch to pitching out of the stretch this season seems to be working quite well for Strasburg, who has pitched seven innings in all three of his starts. He's given up no more than three runs in any of them. He threw a season-high 111 pitches Friday, a mark he reached just twice in 24 starts last year.
Apr. 9 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Strasburg gave up three runs over seven innings, striking out eight, in the Nationals' 4-3, 10-inning loss to the Phillies on Sunday.
Analysis: That's two fairly lengthy, impressive starts from Strasburg, who is always a health concern.
Apr. 9 2:22 PM PT3:22 PM MT4:22 PM CT5:22 PM ET17:22 ET21:22 GMT5:22 2:22 PM MST4:22 PM EST4:52 PM VEN1:22 UAE (+1)4:22 PM CT-Strasburg gave up three runs over seven innings, striking out eight, in the Nationals' 4-3, 10-inning loss to the Phillies on Sunday.
Analysis: That's two fairly lengthy, impressive starts from Strasburg, who is always a health concern.
Apr. 3 3:22 PM PT4:22 PM MT5:22 PM CT6:22 PM ET18:22 ET22:22 GMT6:22 3:22 PM MST5:22 PM EST5:52 PM VEN2:22 UAE (+1)5:22 PM CT-Strasburg won Monday's opening day start with seven sharp innings in which the hard-throwing right-hander held the Marlins to two runs on six hits, struck out three and did not walk a batter.
Analysis: Strasburg displayed good command from his new windup, which consisted of him working solely out of the stretch. As always, the talented hurler's fantasy outlook will hinge predominately on his health, so owners should benefit in the short-term and keep their fingers crossed thereafter.
Mar. 3 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET22:34 GMT6:34 3:34 PM MST5:34 PM EST6:04 PM VEN2:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Strasburg avoided a windup for all 23 of his pitches in a 2-1, 10-inning loss by a Washington split squad to St. Louis on Friday, his first appearance of spring training.
Analysis: Strasburg came up with the idea after watching Texas' Yu Darvish and Cleveland's Carlos Carrasco. He approached pitching coach Mike Maddux with the idea at the start of spring training. "If you can keep and repeat your arm slot, theoretically it's supposed to put less stress on your arm,'' Strasburg said.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 Was 5 3 0 - 0 12 12 0 68.0 56 25 22 5 17 0 92 1.07 2.91
2011 Was 1 1 0 - 0 5 5 0 24.0 15 5 4 0 2 0 24 0.71 1.50
2012 Was 15 6 0 - 0 28 28 0 159.1 136 62 56 15 48 1 197 1.15 3.16
2013 Was 8 9 0 - 0 30 30 1 183.0 136 71 61 16 56 1 191 1.05 3.00
2014 Was 14 11 0 - 0 34 34 0 215.0 198 86 75 23 43 4 242 1.12 3.14
2015 Was 11 7 0 - 0 23 23 0 127.1 115 56 49 14 26 0 155 1.11 3.46
2016 Was 15 4 0 - 0 24 24 0 147.2 119 59 59 15 44 1 183 1.10 3.60
2017 Was 10 3 0 - 0 20 20 0 121.2 99 49 44 12 37 4 141 1.12 3.25
Career 79 44 0 - 0 176 176 1 1046.0 874 413 370 100 273 11 1225 1.10 3.18

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2010 Was 12 20 0 1 0 0 0 1 0 7 0 0 .050 .050 .050
2011 Was 5 6 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2012 Was 28 47 4 13 4 0 1 7 3 13 0 0 .277 .333 .426
2013 Was 30 49 2 7 2 0 0 2 2 23 0 0 .143 .176 .184
2014 Was 34 60 3 6 1 0 0 3 7 26 0 0 .100 .194 .117
2015 Was 23 38 1 5 0 0 0 0 2 17 0 0 .132 .175 .132
2016 Was 24 48 3 10 1 0 0 2 2 11 0 0 .208 .240 .229
2017 Was 20 40 4 5 0 0 1 2 1 9 0 0 .125 .146 .200
Career 176 308 18 47 8 0 2 17 17 109 0 0 .153 .199 .198

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2014 Was Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 2 1 0 1 0 2 1.80
    LDS 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 2 1 0 1 0 2 1.80
Career 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 5.0 8 2 1 0 1 0 2 1.80

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2014 Was Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .000 .000


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1036 98 92 92.5 52.38
Curveball 452 86 78 80.8 22.85
Slider 138 93 88 84.5 6.98
Changeup 352 92 85 85.1 17.8

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Sports Daily logo