MLB Baseball

#41
Chris Sale
ERA W-L K
4.40 6-11 218
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-6 / 183
Position: SPBorn: 3/30/1989 Birthplace: Lakeland, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 1st Round by White Sox (2010)


Latest News
Aug. 17 4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST5:08 PM CST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)6:08 PM CT-Red Sox manager Alex Cora said Sale will see Dr. James Andrews in Florida on Monday. Sale was put on the 10-day injured list Saturday after an MRI showed inflammation in his pitching elbow. The lefty hasn't spoken to reporters since going on the IL. ''He just wants to be straight up and have all the information when he talks to you guys,'' Cora said.
Analysis: Struggling through a mediocre season, Sale is 6-11 with a 4.40 ERA, but he was coming off two solid starts in which he combined for 25 strikeouts - including the 2,000th of his career - and allowed only three earned runs in 14 2/3 innings.
Aug. 13 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST9:21 PM CST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed five runs - three earned - on five hits and two walks in 6.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-6 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 8 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET21:31 ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST8:31 PM EST7:31 PM CST9:01 PM VEN5:31 UAE (+1)8:31 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 6-11, allowing two hits over 8.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 3-0 on Thursday. Sale struck out 13, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.09 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 3 12:52 PM PT1:52 PM MT2:52 PM CT3:52 PM ET15:52 ET19:52 GMT3:52 12:52 PM MST2:52 PM EST1:52 PM CST3:22 PM VEN23:52 UAE2:52 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-11, allowing eight runs on nine hits in 3.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 9-2 on Saturday. Sale struck out four, ending the game with a 4.68 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST8:45 PM CST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 5-10, allowing six runs on five hits and three walks in 5.1 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 9-6 on Sunday. Sale struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.26 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 23 7:32 PM PT8:32 PM MT9:32 PM CT10:32 PM ET22:32 ET2:32 GMT10:32 7:32 PM MST9:32 PM EST8:32 PM CST10:02 PM VEN6:32 UAE (+1)9:32 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 5-9, allowing two runs on four hits and three walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 5-4 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.00 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 18 1:00 PM PT2:00 PM MT3:00 PM CT4:00 PM ET16:00 ET20:00 GMT4:00 1:00 PM MST3:00 PM EST2:00 PM CST3:30 PM VEN0:00 UAE (+1)3:00 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 4-9, allowing two hits and two walks over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-0 on Thursday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 4.05 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 3-9, allowing five runs on seven hits and one walk in 4.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 11-2 on Saturday. Sale struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.27 ERA and 1.10 WHIP on the season.
July 3 7:13 PM PT8:13 PM MT9:13 PM CT10:13 PM ET22:13 ET2:13 GMT10:13 7:13 PM MST9:13 PM EST8:13 PM CST9:43 PM VEN6:13 UAE (+1)9:13 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 3-8, allowing five runs on nine hits and two walks in 5.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-3 on Wednesday. Sale struck out five, ending the game with a 4.04 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
June 26 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST2:46 PM CST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed five runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 8-7 on Wednesday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.82 ERA and 1.03 WHIP on the season.
June 21 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST9:14 PM CST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed four runs - three earned - on seven hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Friday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 3.59 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
June 15 4:30 PM PT5:30 PM MT6:30 PM CT7:30 PM ET19:30 ET23:30 GMT7:30 4:30 PM MST6:30 PM EST5:30 PM CST7:00 PM VEN3:30 UAE (+1)6:30 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 3-7, allowing two runs on six hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 7-2 on Saturday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.49 ERA and 0.97 WHIP on the season.
June 10 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run - zero earned - on three hits and one walk in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Texas Rangers 4-3 on Monday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 3.52 ERA and 0.96 WHIP on the season.
June 5 7:58 PM PT8:58 PM MT9:58 PM CT10:58 PM ET22:58 ET2:58 GMT10:58 7:58 PM MST9:58 PM EST8:58 PM CST10:28 PM VEN6:58 UAE (+1)9:58 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 2-7, allowing three hits in a complete-game shutout, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 8-0 on Wednesday. Sale struck out 12, ending the game with a 3.84 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
May 31 7:01 PM PT8:01 PM MT9:01 PM CT10:01 PM ET22:01 ET2:01 GMT10:01 7:01 PM MST9:01 PM EST8:01 PM CST9:31 PM VEN6:01 UAE (+1)9:01 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 1-7, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 4-1 on Friday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.35 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 24 8:02 PM PT9:02 PM MT10:02 PM CT11:02 PM ET23:02 ET3:02 GMT11:02 8:02 PM MST10:02 PM EST9:02 PM CST10:32 PM VEN7:02 UAE (+1)10:02 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 1-6, allowing four runs - two earned - on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 4-3 on Friday. Sale struck out five, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.06 WHIP on the season.
May 19 2:07 PM PT3:07 PM MT4:07 PM CT5:07 PM ET17:07 ET21:07 GMT5:07 2:07 PM MST4:07 PM EST3:07 PM CST4:37 PM VEN1:07 UAE (+1)4:07 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed three runs on four hits and five walks in 5.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 4-3 on Sunday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 4.31 ERA and 1.08 WHIP on the season.
May 14 7:57 PM PT8:57 PM MT9:57 PM CT10:57 PM ET22:57 ET2:57 GMT10:57 7:57 PM MST9:57 PM EST8:57 PM CST10:27 PM VEN6:57 UAE (+1)9:57 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on three hits in 7.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Colorado Rockies 5-4 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 17, ending the game with a 4.24 ERA and 1.02 WHIP on the season.
May 8 8:12 PM PT9:12 PM MT10:12 PM CT11:12 PM ET23:12 ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST10:12 PM EST9:12 PM CST10:42 PM VEN7:12 UAE (+1)10:12 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed one run on three hits in 8.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 2-1 on Wednesday. Sale struck out 14, ending the game with a 4.50 ERA and 1.11 WHIP on the season.
May 3 8:30 PM PT9:30 PM MT10:30 PM CT11:30 PM ET23:30 ET3:30 GMT11:30 8:30 PM MST10:30 PM EST9:30 PM CST11:00 PM VEN7:30 UAE (+1)10:30 PM CT-Chris Sale improved to 1-5, allowing three hits and one walk over 6.0 scoreless innings, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Chicago White Sox 6-1 on Friday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 5.25 ERA and 1.28 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 28 12:39 PM PT1:39 PM MT2:39 PM CT3:39 PM ET15:39 ET19:39 GMT3:39 12:39 PM MST2:39 PM EST1:39 PM CST3:09 PM VEN23:39 UAE2:39 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-5, allowing four runs - two earned - on four hits and three walks in 7.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-2 on Sunday. Sale struck out eight, ending the game with a 6.30 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 23 1:09 PM PT2:09 PM MT3:09 PM CT4:09 PM ET16:09 ET20:09 GMT4:09 1:09 PM MST3:09 PM EST2:09 PM CST3:39 PM VEN0:09 UAE (+1)3:09 PM CT-Chris Sale allowed two runs on five hits and two walks in 5.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 7-4 on Tuesday. Sale struck out 10, ending the game with a 7.43 ERA and 1.52 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 16 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET21:05 ET1:05 GMT9:05 6:05 PM MST8:05 PM EST7:05 PM CST8:35 PM VEN5:05 UAE (+1)8:05 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-4, allowing four runs on seven hits and one walk in 5.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 8-0 on Tuesday. Sale struck out six, ending the game with an 8.50 ERA and 1.56 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 9 2:52 PM PT3:52 PM MT4:52 PM CT5:52 PM ET17:52 ET21:52 GMT5:52 2:52 PM MST4:52 PM EST3:52 PM CST5:22 PM VEN1:52 UAE (+1)4:52 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-3, allowing five runs on seven hits in 4.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-5 on Tuesday. Sale struck out three, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 9:55 PM PT10:55 PM MT11:55 PM CT12:55 AM ET0:55 ET4:55 GMT12:55 9:55 PM MST11:55 PM EST10:55 PM CST12:25 AM VEN8:55 UAE11:55 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-2, allowing one run on three hits and two walks in 6.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 1-0 on Tuesday. Sale struck out one, ending the game with an 8.00 ERA and 1.44 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 28 7:48 PM PT8:48 PM MT9:48 PM CT10:48 PM ET22:48 ET2:48 GMT10:48 7:48 PM MST9:48 PM EST8:48 PM CST10:18 PM VEN6:48 UAE (+1)8:48 PM CT-Chris Sale fell to 0-1, allowing seven runs on six hits and two walks in 3.0 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Seattle Mariners 12-4 on Thursday. Sale struck out four, ending the game with a 21.00 ERA and 2.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2010 CWS 2 1 4 - 4 21 0 0 23.1 15 5 5 2 10 0 32 1.07 1.93
2011 CWS 2 2 8 - 10 58 0 0 71.0 52 22 22 6 27 3 79 1.11 2.79
2012 CWS 17 8 0 - 1 30 29 1 192.0 167 66 65 19 51 5 192 1.14 3.05
2013 CWS 11 14 0 - 0 30 30 4 214.1 184 81 73 23 46 2 226 1.07 3.07
2014 CWS 12 4 0 - 0 26 26 2 174.0 129 48 42 13 39 2 208 0.97 2.17
2015 CWS 13 11 0 - 0 31 31 1 208.2 185 88 79 23 42 0 274 1.09 3.41
2016 CWS 17 10 0 - 0 32 32 6 226.2 190 88 84 27 45 2 233 1.04 3.34
2017 Bos 17 8 0 - 0 32 32 1 214.1 165 73 69 24 43 0 308 0.97 2.90
2018 Bos 12 4 0 - 0 27 27 0 158.0 102 39 37 11 34 0 237 0.86 2.11
2019 Bos 6 11 0 - 0 25 25 1 147.1 123 80 72 24 37 0 218 1.09 4.40
Career 109 73 12 - 15 312 232 16 1629.2 1312 590 548 172 374 14 2007 1.03 3.03

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 CWS 30 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 CWS 26 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 CWS 31 9 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .111 .111 .111
2016 CWS 32 6 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .167 .167 .167
2017 Bos 32 3 0 1 1 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .333 .333 .667
2018 Bos 27 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 312 25 1 3 1 0 0 0 0 13 0 0 .120 .120 .160

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Bos Total 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
    LDS 0 2 0 - 0 2 1 0 9.2 13 9 9 4 1 0 12 8.38
2018 Bos Total 1 0 0 - 0 5 3 0 15.1 11 7 7 1 8 0 24 4.11
    LDS 1 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 6.1 5 2 2 0 2 0 9 2.84
    LCS 0 0 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 1 2 2 0 4 0 5 4.50
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 1 0 5.0 5 3 3 1 2 0 10 5.40
Career 1 2 0 - 0 7 4 0 25.0 24 16 16 5 9 0 36 5.76


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 1145 98 86 93.1 46.43
Slider 948 85 71 78.9 38.44
Changeup 373 90 81 85.2 15.13

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.