MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#33
Derek Norris
AVG HR RBI
.201 9 24
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-0 / 235 NFBC ADP: 318.18
Position: CBorn: 2/14/1989 Birthplace: Goddard, Kansas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 4th Round by Nationals (2007)


Latest News
Sep. 1 4:34 PM PT5:34 PM MT6:34 PM CT7:34 PM ET19:34 ET23:34 GMT7:34 4:34 PM MST6:34 PM EST7:04 PM VEN3:34 UAE (+1)6:34 PM CT-Norris, a free agent, was suspended for the rest of the season by Major League Baseball for violating the sport's domestic violence policy nearly two years ago.
Analysis: The commissioner's office said Friday that Norris violated the policy on Oct. 21, 2015, but did not announce the nature of the violation. Released by Tampa Bay on June 29, Norris was placed on the restricted list for the remainder of the season.
June 24 8:57 AM PT9:57 AM MT10:57 AM CT11:57 AM ET11:57 ET15:57 GMT23:57 8:57 AM MST10:57 AM EST11:27 AM VEN19:57 UAE10:57 AM CT-The Rays have released Norris, three days after designating him for assignment.
Analysis: With Wilson Ramos back from his knee injury, the Rays opted to keep Jesus Sucre as the second catcher over the 28-year-old veteran. Norris hit nine homers in 179 at-bats during his first season in Tampa but is hitting just .201.
June 23 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Derek Norris went 3 for 3 with a double, a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Baltimore Orioles 15-5. The homer was his ninth of the season. Norris scored three times. He ended the game with a .201 batting average.
Analysis: Norris had a season-high three hits after entering the day in a 3-for-26 slide.
June 19 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Cincinnati Reds 7-3. He ended the game with a .188 batting average.
June 19 7:55 AM PT8:55 AM MT9:55 AM CT10:55 AM ET10:55 ET14:55 GMT22:55 7:55 AM MST9:55 AM EST10:25 AM VEN18:55 UAE9:55 AM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Detroit Tigers 9-1. The homer was his eighth of the season. He ended the game with a .191 batting average.
June 17 6:04 PM PT7:04 PM MT8:04 PM CT9:04 PM ET21:04 ET1:04 GMT9:04 6:04 PM MST8:04 PM EST8:34 PM VEN5:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 4 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Detroit Tigers 3-2. He ended the game with a .189 batting average.
June 14 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 7-6. He ended the game with a .188 batting average.
June 13 7:50 PM PT8:50 PM MT9:50 PM CT10:50 PM ET22:50 ET2:50 GMT10:50 7:50 PM MST9:50 PM EST10:20 PM VEN6:50 UAE (+1)9:50 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 4 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Toronto Blue Jays 8-1. He ended the game with a .191 batting average.
June 11 2:47 PM PT3:47 PM MT4:47 PM CT5:47 PM ET17:47 ET21:47 GMT5:47 2:47 PM MST4:47 PM EST5:17 PM VEN1:47 UAE (+1)4:47 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 4 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Oakland Athletics 5-4. He ended the game with a .190 batting average.
June 10 3:25 PM PT4:25 PM MT5:25 PM CT6:25 PM ET18:25 ET22:25 GMT6:25 3:25 PM MST5:25 PM EST5:55 PM VEN2:25 UAE (+1)5:25 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 4 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Oakland Athletics 6-5. He ended the game with a .195 batting average.
June 9 9:42 AM PT10:42 AM MT11:42 AM CT12:42 PM ET12:42 ET16:42 GMT0:42 9:42 AM MST11:42 AM EST12:12 PM VEN20:42 UAE11:42 AM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 3 with two home runs and three RBIs Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Chicago White Sox 7-5. The homers were his sixth and seventh of the season. He ended the game with a .200 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is batting just .130 in his last 14 games, but five of his six hits in that stretch have been homers.
June 8 8:42 AM PT9:42 AM MT10:42 AM CT11:42 AM ET11:42 ET15:42 GMT23:42 8:42 AM MST10:42 AM EST11:12 AM VEN19:42 UAE10:42 AM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Chicago White Sox 3-1. He ended the game with a .190 batting average.
June 4 9:14 AM PT10:14 AM MT11:14 AM CT12:14 PM ET12:14 ET16:14 GMT0:14 9:14 AM MST11:14 AM EST11:44 AM VEN20:14 UAE11:14 AM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Seattle Mariners 9-2. He ended the game with a .194 batting average.
Analysis: Norris limped off after flying out to center field in the eighth and was replaced behind the plate by Jesus Sucre. ''Back spasm,'' Rays manager Kevin Cash said after the game. ''It's more in the muscle. We expect he'll be OK. Obviously, he's not going to play tomorrow, but he should be OK after that.''
June 3 10:41 AM PT11:41 AM MT12:41 PM CT1:41 PM ET13:41 ET17:41 GMT1:41 10:41 AM MST12:41 PM EST1:11 PM VEN21:41 UAE12:41 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 4 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Seattle Mariners 12-4. He ended the game with a .199 batting average.
June 1 9:38 PM PT10:38 PM MT11:38 PM CT12:38 AM ET0:38 ET4:38 GMT12:38 9:38 PM MST11:38 PM EST12:08 AM VEN8:38 UAE11:38 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 5 with a home run and two RBIs Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Texas Rangers 7-5. The homer was his fifth of the season. He ended the game with a .204 batting average.
Analysis: Norris' home run was just his second hit in seven games (2 for 23).
May 30 9:37 AM PT10:37 AM MT11:37 AM CT12:37 PM ET12:37 ET16:37 GMT0:37 9:37 AM MST11:37 AM EST12:07 PM VEN20:37 UAE11:37 AM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 4 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Texas Rangers 10-8. He ended the game with a .205 batting average.
May 27 5:22 PM PT6:22 PM MT7:22 PM CT8:22 PM ET20:22 ET0:22 GMT8:22 5:22 PM MST7:22 PM EST7:52 PM VEN4:22 UAE (+1)7:22 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 with two RBIs Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Minnesota Twins 5-3. He ended the game with a .211 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 1 for 15 in his last five games.
May 26 8:22 PM PT9:22 PM MT10:22 PM CT11:22 PM ET23:22 ET3:22 GMT11:22 8:22 PM MST10:22 PM EST10:52 PM VEN7:22 UAE (+1)10:22 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 4 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Minnesota Twins 5-2. He ended the game with a .208 batting average.
May 25 9:00 PM PT10:00 PM MT11:00 PM CT12:00 AM ET0:00 ET4:00 GMT12:00 9:00 PM MST11:00 PM EST11:30 PM VEN8:00 UAE11:00 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Los Angeles Angels 5-2. He ended the game with a .215 batting average.
May 23 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 2 Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Los Angeles Angels 4-0. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
May 22 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 2 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Los Angeles Angels 3-2. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
May 21 4:14 PM PT5:14 PM MT6:14 PM CT7:14 PM ET19:14 ET23:14 GMT7:14 4:14 PM MST6:14 PM EST6:44 PM VEN3:14 UAE (+1)6:14 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the New York Yankees 3-2. The homer was his fourth of the season. He ended the game with a .228 batting average.
Analysis: The homer was Norris' second in three games and he's scored a run in six straight as his bat looks to be coming around. The Tampa catcher is 8 for 25 over his last eight games.
May 19 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the New York Yankees 5-4. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .225 batting average.
May 16 6:32 PM PT7:32 PM MT8:32 PM CT9:32 PM ET21:32 ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST8:32 PM EST9:02 PM VEN5:32 UAE (+1)8:32 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 4 with a home run and an RBI Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Cleveland Indians 6-4. The homer was his third of the season. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 7 for 19 (.368) with five runs in his last six games.
May 15 6:54 PM PT7:54 PM MT8:54 PM CT9:54 PM ET21:54 ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST8:54 PM EST9:24 PM VEN5:54 UAE (+1)8:54 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 with a double Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Cleveland Indians 8-7. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .231 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 6 for 15 with four runs and three walks over his last five games. He's batting .324 in 11 contests in May after hitting .186 in 20 games in April.
May 13 1:26 PM PT2:26 PM MT3:26 PM CT4:26 PM ET16:26 ET20:26 GMT4:26 1:26 PM MST3:26 PM EST3:56 PM VEN0:26 UAE (+1)3:26 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 2 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Boston Red Sox 6-3. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .220 batting average.
May 12 7:42 PM PT8:42 PM MT9:42 PM CT10:42 PM ET22:42 ET2:42 GMT10:42 7:42 PM MST9:42 PM EST10:12 PM VEN6:42 UAE (+1)9:42 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Boston Red Sox 5-4. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .224 batting average.
May 11 1:16 PM PT2:16 PM MT3:16 PM CT4:16 PM ET16:16 ET20:16 GMT4:16 1:16 PM MST3:16 PM EST3:46 PM VEN0:16 UAE (+1)3:16 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 2 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Kansas City Royals 6-0. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
May 10 7:33 PM PT8:33 PM MT9:33 PM CT10:33 PM ET22:33 ET2:33 GMT10:33 7:33 PM MST9:33 PM EST10:03 PM VEN6:33 UAE (+1)9:33 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 3 with an RBI Wednesday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Kansas City Royals 12-1. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
May 8 8:36 PM PT9:36 PM MT10:36 PM CT11:36 PM ET23:36 ET3:36 GMT11:36 8:36 PM MST10:36 PM EST11:06 PM VEN7:36 UAE (+1)10:36 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Kansas City Royals 7-3. He ended the game with a .202 batting average.
May 6 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Derek Norris went 0 for 3 Saturday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Toronto Blue Jays 6-1. He ended the game with a .209 batting average.
Analysis: Norris was 9 for 25 (.360) with two homers, two doubles and four RBIs over his previous eight games.
May 5 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 with a home run and an RBI Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays fell to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-4. The homer was his second of the season. He ended the game with a .217 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 9 for 25 (.360) with two homers, two doubles and four RBIs over his last eight games.
May 5 9:15 AM PT10:15 AM MT11:15 AM CT12:15 PM ET12:15 ET16:15 GMT0:15 9:15 AM MST11:15 AM EST11:45 AM VEN20:15 UAE11:15 AM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 Thursday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Miami Marlins 5-1. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .213 batting average.
May 2 8:21 PM PT9:21 PM MT10:21 PM CT11:21 PM ET23:21 ET3:21 GMT11:21 8:21 PM MST10:21 PM EST10:51 PM VEN7:21 UAE (+1)10:21 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 with an RBI Tuesday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Miami Marlins 3-1. He ended the game with a .208 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 7 for 19 with a homer, two doubles and three RBIs over his last six games.
May 1 7:51 PM PT8:51 PM MT9:51 PM CT10:51 PM ET22:51 ET2:51 GMT10:51 7:51 PM MST9:51 PM EST10:21 PM VEN6:51 UAE (+1)9:51 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 3 with a double Monday as the Tampa Bay Rays beat the Miami Marlins 4-2. Norris scored once. He ended the game with a .192 batting average.
Analysis: Norris is 5 for 15 with a homer, two doubles and two RBIs over his last five games.
Apr. 30 1:40 PM PT2:40 PM MT3:40 PM CT4:40 PM ET16:40 ET20:40 GMT4:40 1:40 PM MST3:40 PM EST4:10 PM VEN0:40 UAE (+1)3:40 PM CT-Derek Norris went 1 for 4 Sunday as the Tampa Bay Rays lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 3-1. He ended the game with a .186 batting average.
Apr. 28 8:27 PM PT9:27 PM MT10:27 PM CT11:27 PM ET23:27 ET3:27 GMT11:27 8:27 PM MST10:27 PM EST10:57 PM VEN7:27 UAE (+1)10:27 PM CT-Derek Norris went 2 for 4 with a home run and two RBIs Friday as the Tampa Bay Rays topped the Toronto Blue Jays 7-4. The homer was his first of the season. He ended the game with a .185 batting average.
Analysis: Norris was 2 for 21 in his previous six games.
Mar. 15 7:56 AM PT8:56 AM MT9:56 AM CT10:56 AM ET10:56 ET14:56 GMT22:56 7:56 AM MST9:56 AM EST10:26 AM VEN18:56 UAE8:56 AM CT-The Nationals have unconditionally released Norris, who at one point appeared to be penciled in as Washington's starting catcher but became expendable after the club signed free agent Matt Wieters. The Nationals announced the move Wednesday via Twitter.
Analysis: Norris, originally a first-round draft pick by Washington in 2007, was reacquired by the team in December via a trade with the San Diego Padres for minor league right-hander Pedro Avila. Norris batted .186 with 14 homers and 42 RBIs with San Diego last season. With Washington's starting catcher in 2016, Wilson Ramos, gone after signing as a free agent with Tampa Bay, Norris was in line for the job.

Regular Season

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Oak 60 209 19 42 8 1 7 34 21 66 5 1 .201 .276 .349
2013 Oak 98 264 41 65 16 0 9 30 37 71 5 0 .246 .345 .409
2014 Oak 127 385 46 104 19 1 10 55 54 86 2 2 .270 .361 .403
2015 SD 147 515 65 129 33 2 14 62 35 131 4 1 .250 .305 .404
2016 SD 125 415 50 77 17 0 14 42 36 139 9 2 .186 .255 .328
2017 TB 53 179 21 36 5 0 9 24 12 48 1 0 .201 .258 .380
Career 610 1967 242 453 98 4 63 247 195 541 26 6 .230 .304 .380

Postseason

Hitting Statistics
Year Team Round G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Oak Total 5 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 1 .083 .083 .083
    LDS 5 12 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 6 0 1 .083 .083 .083
2013 Oak Total 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
    LDS 1 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Oak Total 1 5 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
    WC 1 5 1 1 0 0 0 1 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .200
Career 7 18 1 2 0 0 0 1 0 9 0 1 .111 .111 .111


Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Sports Daily logo