MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#47
Tyler Thornburg
ERA S K
5.63 0 21
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 5-11 / 202
Position: RPBorn: 9/29/1988 Birthplace: Houston, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 3rd Round by Brewers (2010)


Latest News
Sep. 14 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Mets 8-0 on Friday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.63 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 8 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST5:48 PM CST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed two hits and one walk without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 5-3 on Saturday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.63 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 7 7:52 PM PT8:52 PM MT9:52 PM CT10:52 PM ET22:52 ET2:52 GMT10:52 7:52 PM MST9:52 PM EST8:52 PM CST10:22 PM VEN6:52 UAE (+1)9:52 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 6-3 on Friday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 1 10:15 PM PT11:15 PM MT12:15 AM CT1:15 AM ET1:15 ET5:15 GMT13:15 10:15 PM MST12:15 AM EST11:15 PM CST12:45 AM VEN9:15 UAE12:15 AM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed three runs on three hits and two walks in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Chicago White Sox 6-1 on Friday. Thornburg struck out three, ending the game with a 5.31 ERA and 1.48 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 29 6:49 PM PT7:49 PM MT8:49 PM CT9:49 PM ET21:49 ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST8:49 PM EST7:49 PM CST9:19 PM VEN5:49 UAE (+1)8:49 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg improved to 2-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 14-6 on Wednesday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.19 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 25 6:07 PM PT7:07 PM MT8:07 PM CT9:07 PM ET21:07 ET1:07 GMT9:07 6:07 PM MST8:07 PM EST7:07 PM CST8:37 PM VEN5:07 UAE (+1)8:07 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one run on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 5-1 on Saturday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.42 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cleveland Indians 7-0 on Thursday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.15 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 21 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 6-3 on Tuesday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.41 ERA and 1.29 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 20 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET22:15 ET2:15 GMT10:15 7:15 PM MST9:15 PM EST8:15 PM CST9:45 PM VEN6:15 UAE (+1)9:15 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Cleveland Indians 5-4 on Monday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.30 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 17 7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST8:10 PM CST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)9:10 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 7-3 on Friday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.40 ERA and 1.33 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 12 1:18 PM PT2:18 PM MT3:18 PM CT4:18 PM ET16:18 ET20:18 GMT4:18 1:18 PM MST3:18 PM EST2:18 PM CST3:48 PM VEN0:18 UAE (+1)3:18 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 4-1 on Sunday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.73 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 11 12:58 PM PT1:58 PM MT2:58 PM CT3:58 PM ET15:58 ET19:58 GMT3:58 12:58 PM MST2:58 PM EST1:58 PM CST3:28 PM VEN23:58 UAE2:58 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-0 on Saturday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 4.97 ERA and 1.26 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 9 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST7:58 PM CST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-5 on Thursday. Thornburg struck out three, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.37 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 7 7:38 PM PT8:38 PM MT9:38 PM CT10:38 PM ET22:38 ET2:38 GMT10:38 7:38 PM MST9:38 PM EST8:38 PM CST10:08 PM VEN6:38 UAE (+1)9:38 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed two runs on three hits in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 10-7 on Tuesday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.91 ERA and 1.31 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 6 9:54 PM PT10:54 PM MT11:54 PM CT12:54 AM ET0:54 ET4:54 GMT12:54 9:54 PM MST11:54 PM EST10:54 PM CST12:24 AM VEN8:54 UAE11:54 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg walked two and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the New York Yankees 5-4 on Sunday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.14 WHIP on the season.
July 30 8:19 PM PT9:19 PM MT10:19 PM CT11:19 PM ET23:19 ET3:19 GMT11:19 8:19 PM MST10:19 PM EST9:19 PM CST10:49 PM VEN7:19 UAE (+1)10:19 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Philadelphia Phillies 2-1 on Monday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 28 7:43 PM PT8:43 PM MT9:43 PM CT10:43 PM ET22:43 ET2:43 GMT10:43 7:43 PM MST9:43 PM EST8:43 PM CST10:13 PM VEN6:43 UAE (+1)9:43 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 10-4 on Saturday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.04 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST8:40 PM CST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg improved to 1-0, allowing no hits over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Minnesota Twins 4-3 on Friday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 6.75 ERA and 1.20 WHIP on the season.
July 24 7:46 PM PT8:46 PM MT9:46 PM CT10:46 PM ET22:46 ET2:46 GMT10:46 7:46 PM MST9:46 PM EST8:46 PM CST10:16 PM VEN6:46 UAE (+1)9:46 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Baltimore Orioles 7-6 on Tuesday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 7.94 ERA and 1.41 WHIP on the season.
July 22 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Detroit Tigers 9-1 on Sunday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with an 8.44 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 21 5:40 PM PT6:40 PM MT7:40 PM CT8:40 PM ET20:40 ET0:40 GMT8:40 5:40 PM MST7:40 PM EST6:40 PM CST8:10 PM VEN4:40 UAE (+1)7:40 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed three runs on two hits and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Detroit Tigers 5-0 on Saturday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 10.38 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
July 15 1:25 PM PT2:25 PM MT3:25 PM CT4:25 PM ET16:25 ET20:25 GMT4:25 1:25 PM MST3:25 PM EST2:25 PM CST3:55 PM VEN0:25 UAE (+1)3:25 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-2 on Sunday. Thornburg struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
July 13 8:00 PM PT9:00 PM MT10:00 PM CT11:00 PM ET23:00 ET3:00 GMT11:00 8:00 PM MST10:00 PM EST9:00 PM CST10:30 PM VEN7:00 UAE (+1)10:00 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 13-7 on Friday. Thornburg struck out two, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 1.71 WHIP on the season.
July 8 2:43 PM PT3:43 PM MT4:43 PM CT5:43 PM ET17:43 ET21:43 GMT5:43 2:43 PM MST4:43 PM EST3:43 PM CST5:13 PM VEN1:43 UAE (+1)4:43 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one run on two hits in 0.1 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 7-4 on Sunday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 2.25 WHIP on the season.
July 6 8:17 PM PT9:17 PM MT10:17 PM CT11:17 PM ET23:17 ET3:17 GMT11:17 8:17 PM MST10:17 PM EST9:17 PM CST10:47 PM VEN7:17 UAE (+1)10:17 PM CT-Tyler Thornburg allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-5 on Friday. Thornburg did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 9:19 AM PT10:19 AM MT11:19 AM CT12:19 PM ET12:19 ET16:19 GMT0:19 9:19 AM MST11:19 AM EST10:19 AM CST11:49 AM VEN20:19 UAE11:19 AM CT-Thornburg (thoracic outlet surgery) was activated off the DL on Wednesday.
Analysis: The right-hander last pitched in a major league game in October of 2016 for the Brewers. Boston acquired him that offseason.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2012 Mil 0 0 0 - 0 8 3 0 22.0 24 11 11 8 7 0 20 1.41 4.50
2013 Mil 3 1 0 - 0 18 7 0 66.2 53 17 15 1 26 2 48 1.19 2.03
2014 Mil 3 1 0 - 0 27 0 0 29.2 24 14 14 1 21 0 28 1.52 4.25
2015 Mil 0 2 0 - 0 24 0 0 34.1 31 22 14 7 12 1 34 1.25 3.67
2016 Mil 8 5 13 - 21 67 0 0 67.0 38 19 16 6 25 1 90 0.94 2.15
2018 Bos 2 0 0 - 0 25 0 0 24.0 28 15 15 6 10 0 21 1.58 5.63
Career 16 9 13 - 21 169 10 0 243.2 198 98 85 29 101 4 241 1.23 3.14

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2012 Mil 8 5 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .200 .200 .400
2013 Mil 19 16 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Mil 27 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 .000 .500 .000
2015 Mil 24 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 1 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 170 25 1 1 1 0 0 0 0 11 0 0 .040 .077 .080


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 239 96 90 92.9 55.58
Curveball 126 81 74 77.9 29.3
Changeup 65 88 83 84.9 15.12

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties