MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#43
Bruce Rondón
ERA S K
10.91 1 22
Team: DetroitHt / Wt: 6-3 / 275 NFBC ADP: 478.76
Position: RPBorn: 12/9/1990 Birthplace: Valencia, Venezuela
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: Undrafted by Tigers (2007)


Latest News
Aug. 13 4:24 PM PT5:24 PM MT6:24 PM CT7:24 PM ET19:24 ET23:24 GMT7:24 4:24 PM MST6:24 PM EST6:54 PM VEN3:24 UAE (+1)6:24 PM CT-Bruce Rondon fell to 1-3, allowing two runs on no hits and two walks without recording an out, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-4 on Sunday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 10.91 ERA and 1.98 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 10 2:34 PM PT3:34 PM MT4:34 PM CT5:34 PM ET17:34 ET21:34 GMT5:34 2:34 PM MST4:34 PM EST5:04 PM VEN1:34 UAE (+1)4:34 PM CT-Bruce Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Pittsburgh Pirates 7-5 on Thursday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 9.77 ERA and 1.85 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 5 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Bruce Rondon recorded his first save, allowing no runs on one hit in 1.0 inning, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Baltimore Orioles 5-2 on Friday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 10.43 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Rondon was called upon to protect the lead in the ninth inning with Shane Greene unavailable after pitching on each of the previous two days. The right-hander appears to be the first line to close in the event Greene is injured or falters in his new role.
Aug. 2 6:09 PM PT7:09 PM MT8:09 PM CT9:09 PM ET21:09 ET1:09 GMT9:09 6:09 PM MST8:09 PM EST8:39 PM VEN5:09 UAE (+1)8:09 PM CT-Bruce Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 2-0 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with an 11.20 ERA and 1.98 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 1 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Bruce Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the New York Yankees 4-3 on Tuesday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 12.08 ERA and 2.05 WHIP on the season.
July 29 9:27 PM PT10:27 PM MT11:27 PM CT12:27 AM ET0:27 ET4:27 GMT12:27 9:27 PM MST11:27 PM EST11:57 PM VEN8:27 UAE11:27 PM CT-Bruce Rondon fell to 1-2, allowing three runs on three hits in 0.1 innings, as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Houston Astros 6-5 on Friday. Rondon did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 12.41 ERA and 2.11 WHIP on the season.
July 27 7:50 AM PT8:50 AM MT9:50 AM CT10:50 AM ET10:50 ET14:50 GMT22:50 7:50 AM MST9:50 AM EST10:20 AM VEN18:50 UAE9:50 AM CT-Bruce Rondon allowed three runs on two hits in 0.1 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Kansas City Royals 16-2 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 10.50 ERA and 1.92 WHIP on the season.
July 23 4:41 PM PT5:41 PM MT6:41 PM CT7:41 PM ET19:41 ET23:41 GMT7:41 4:41 PM MST6:41 PM EST7:11 PM VEN3:41 UAE (+1)6:41 PM CT-Bruce Rondon allowed two runs on three hits in 0.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 9-6 on Sunday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with an 8.49 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
July 22 8:35 PM PT9:35 PM MT10:35 PM CT11:35 PM ET23:35 ET3:35 GMT11:35 8:35 PM MST10:35 PM EST11:05 PM VEN7:35 UAE (+1)10:35 PM CT-Bruce Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Minnesota Twins 6-5 on Saturday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 7.36 ERA and 1.64 WHIP on the season.
July 22 9:01 PM PT10:01 PM MT11:01 PM CT12:01 AM ET0:01 ET4:01 GMT12:01 9:01 PM MST11:01 PM EST11:31 PM VEN8:01 UAE11:01 PM CT-Bruce Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Minnesota Twins 6-3 on Friday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with an 8.10 ERA and 1.80 WHIP on the season.
July 17 8:31 AM PT9:31 AM MT10:31 AM CT11:31 AM ET11:31 ET15:31 GMT23:31 8:31 AM MST10:31 AM EST11:01 AM VEN19:31 UAE10:31 AM CT-Bruce Rondon walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 6-5 on Sunday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 2.00 WHIP on the season.
July 8 7:37 PM PT8:37 PM MT9:37 PM CT10:37 PM ET22:37 ET2:37 GMT10:37 7:37 PM MST9:37 PM EST10:07 PM VEN6:37 UAE (+1)9:37 PM CT-Bruce Rondon allowed three runs on three hits and one walk in 0.2 innings as the Detroit Tigers lost to the Cleveland Indians 4-0 on Saturday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with an 11.57 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
July 6 1:46 PM PT2:46 PM MT3:46 PM CT4:46 PM ET16:46 ET20:46 GMT4:46 1:46 PM MST3:46 PM EST4:16 PM VEN0:46 UAE (+1)3:46 PM CT-Bruce Rondon did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the San Francisco Giants 6-2 on Thursday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with an 8.53 ERA and 1.74 WHIP on the season.
July 5 8:47 PM PT9:47 PM MT10:47 PM CT11:47 PM ET23:47 ET3:47 GMT11:47 8:47 PM MST10:47 PM EST11:17 PM VEN7:47 UAE (+1)10:47 PM CT-Bruce Rondon walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Detroit Tigers lost to the San Francisco Giants 5-4 on Wednesday. Rondon struck out one, ending the game with a 10.13 ERA and 2.06 WHIP on the season.
June 27 7:31 PM PT8:31 PM MT9:31 PM CT10:31 PM ET22:31 ET2:31 GMT10:31 7:31 PM MST9:31 PM EST10:01 PM VEN6:31 UAE (+1)9:31 PM CT-Bruce Rondon allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Detroit Tigers defeated the Kansas City Royals 5-3 on Tuesday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 16.20 ERA and 2.70 WHIP on the season.
June 26 10:13 AM PT11:13 AM MT12:13 PM CT1:13 PM ET13:13 ET17:13 GMT1:13 10:13 AM MST12:13 PM EST12:43 PM VEN21:13 UAE12:13 PM CT-Bruce Rondon improved to 1-1, allowing no hits and one walk over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Detroit Tigers defeated the San Diego Padres 7-5 on Sunday. Rondon struck out two, ending the game with a 23.14 ERA and 3.43 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 10 7:51 AM PT8:51 AM MT9:51 AM CT10:51 AM ET10:51 ET14:51 GMT22:51 7:51 AM MST9:51 AM EST10:21 AM VEN18:51 UAE9:51 AM CT-A bad weekend on the mound resulted in a trip to the minors on Monday for Rondon.
Analysis: Rondon was optioned to Triple-A Toledo and replaced on the 25-man roster by reliever Joe Jimenez before Monday's series finale against the Boston Red Sox at Comerica Park. Rondon took the loss Sunday, allowing three earned runs and two walks without recorded an out in the eighth inning. He entered the game with the Tigers ahead 4-3. The outing came on the heels of rough outings the previous two games, which left Rondon's ERA at 40.50.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Det 1 2 1 - 3 30 0 0 28.2 28 11 11 2 11 0 30 1.36 3.45
2015 Det 1 0 5 - 9 35 0 0 31.0 31 22 20 3 19 1 36 1.61 5.81
2016 Det 5 2 0 - 2 37 0 0 36.1 23 12 12 5 12 1 45 0.96 2.97
2017 Det 1 3 1 - 2 21 0 0 15.2 21 19 19 1 10 2 22 1.98 10.91
Career 8 7 7 - 16 123 0 0 111.2 103 64 62 11 52 4 133 1.39 5.00



Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 175 101 91 96.8 53.35
Slider 123 89 83 85.6 37.5
Changeup 30 91 88 86.1 9.15

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Sports Daily logo