MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#31
Danny Salazar
ERA W-L K
3.87 11-6 161
Team: ClevelandHt / Wt: 6-0 / 195 NFBC ADP: 121.62
Position: SPBorn: 1/11/1990 Birthplace: Santo Domingo, DR
Bats/Throws: L/R Draft: Undrafted by Indians (2006)


Latest News
June 6 1:53 PM PT2:53 PM MT3:53 PM CT4:53 PM ET16:53 ET20:53 GMT4:53 1:53 PM MST3:53 PM EST4:23 PM VEN0:53 UAE (+1)3:53 PM CT-The Indians have placed Salazar on the DL because of right shoulder soreness.
Analysis: Salazar has gone from the starting rotation to the bullpen to the DL. An All-Star last season, Salazar went 3-5 with a 5.50 ERA in 10 starts before the demotion. Manager Terry Francona had hoped being in the bullpen would help Salazar work on his daily throwing routine and regain his confidence.
June 3 3:12 PM PT4:12 PM MT5:12 PM CT6:12 PM ET18:12 ET22:12 GMT6:12 3:12 PM MST5:12 PM EST5:42 PM VEN2:12 UAE (+1)5:12 PM CT-Danny Salazar allowed one run on three hits in 1.2 innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 12-5 on Saturday. Salazar struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
June 1 12:33 PM PT1:33 PM MT2:33 PM CT3:33 PM ET15:33 ET19:33 GMT3:33 12:33 PM MST2:33 PM EST3:03 PM VEN23:33 UAE2:33 PM CT-Danny Salazar allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Oakland Athletics 8-0 on Thursday. Salazar struck out two, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.58 WHIP on the season.
May 28 9:34 AM PT10:34 AM MT11:34 AM CT12:34 PM ET12:34 ET16:34 GMT0:34 9:34 AM MST11:34 AM EST12:04 PM VEN20:34 UAE11:34 AM CT-Salazar, an All-Star last season, has been sent to the bullpen. Salazar is 3-5 with a 5.50 ERA in 10 starts. He has struck out 73 in 52 1/3 innings but has allowed 55 hits and 28 walks.
Analysis: Manager Terry Francona says Salazar will be available as a reliever beginning Wednesday. Francona hopes being in the bullpen will help Salazar work on his daily throwing routine and regain his confidence.
May 27 5:06 PM PT6:06 PM MT7:06 PM CT8:06 PM ET20:06 ET0:06 GMT8:06 5:06 PM MST7:06 PM EST7:36 PM VEN4:06 UAE (+1)7:06 PM CT-Danny Salazar fell to 3-5, allowing four runs - three earned - on six hits and five walks in 5.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 5-2 on Saturday. Salazar struck out four, ending the game with a 5.50 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Salazar may have sealed his fate with this latest shaky outing, as speculation exists that he'll be moved to the bullpen with Corey Kluber slated to come off the DL and start Thursday against Oakland. With a lousy 7.71 ERA over his last four starts and repeated control issues, it may be the right move to make.
May 21 4:16 PM PT5:16 PM MT6:16 PM CT7:16 PM ET19:16 ET23:16 GMT7:16 4:16 PM MST6:16 PM EST6:46 PM VEN3:16 UAE (+1)6:16 PM CT-Danny Salazar improved to 3-4, allowing three runs on four hits and three walks in 5.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Houston Astros 8-6 on Sunday. Salazar struck out seven, ending the game with a 5.55 ERA and 1.53 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Though he allowed a pair of homers and again had some control issues, Salazar was able to halt a three-start winless streak with his longest outing since he threw 6 1/3 innings to beat Seattle on April 29. He'll likely continue to be a risk/reward fantasy option due to his high strikeout rates and overall inconsistency.
May 16 7:05 PM PT8:05 PM MT9:05 PM CT10:05 PM ET22:05 ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST9:05 PM EST9:35 PM VEN6:05 UAE (+1)9:05 PM CT-Danny Salazar fell to 2-4, allowing five runs on six hits and two walks in 5.0 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Tuesday. Salazar struck out nine, ending the game with a 5.66 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Salazar gave up a career-high four homers in his second straight shaky outing. He couldn't hold two early leads and allowed five runs in 2 2/3 innings in Toronto last Wednesday.
May 10 8:26 PM PT9:26 PM MT10:26 PM CT11:26 PM ET23:26 ET3:26 GMT11:26 8:26 PM MST10:26 PM EST10:56 PM VEN7:26 UAE (+1)10:26 PM CT-Danny Salazar allowed five runs on five hits and two walks in 2.2 innings as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 8-7 on Wednesday. Salazar struck out four, ending the game with a 5.20 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Salazar now has an outstanding 53 strikeouts in 36 1/3 innings. Unfortunately for his owners, he's walking his share of batters as well and is averaging just over five innings per start. The talented right-hander has fared better at home thus far, and he does get the Rays at Progressive Field next time out on Tuesday.
May 6 9:06 PM PT10:06 PM MT11:06 PM CT12:06 AM ET0:06 ET4:06 GMT12:06 9:06 PM MST11:06 PM EST11:36 PM VEN8:06 UAE11:06 PM CT-Danny Salazar fell to 2-3, allowing two runs on eight hits and two walks in 4.2 innings, as the Cleveland Indians lost to the Kansas City Royals 3-1 on Friday. Salazar struck out seven, ending the game with a 4.28 ERA and 1.49 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 29 5:02 PM PT6:02 PM MT7:02 PM CT8:02 PM ET20:02 ET0:02 GMT8:02 5:02 PM MST7:02 PM EST7:32 PM VEN4:02 UAE (+1)7:02 PM CT-Danny Salazar improved to 2-2, allowing three runs on three hits and three walks in 6.1 innings, as the Cleveland Indians defeated the Seattle Mariners 4-3 on Saturday. Salazar struck out six, ending the game with a 4.34 ERA and 1.38 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Salazar gave up a double and two homers in the first inning but didn't allow a hit after that. He had surrendered only one home run through his first four starts. The walks continue to be a problem, having issued 14, but he's made up for it with 42 strikeouts in 29 innings.
Apr. 17 8:42 PM PT9:42 PM MT10:42 PM CT11:42 PM ET23:42 ET3:42 GMT11:42 8:42 PM MST10:42 PM EST11:12 PM VEN7:42 UAE (+1)10:42 PM CT-Salazar finished six innings strong after a shaky start and the Indians beat the Minnesota Twins 3-1 on Monday night. Salazar (1-1) struck out seven and retired 15 of his last 18 batters after allowing five hits and one walk over a seven-batter stretch spanning the first two innings.
Analysis: After a rocky season debut, Salazar has a 2.25 ERA in his last two starts.
Apr. 12 8:09 PM PT9:09 PM MT10:09 PM CT11:09 PM ET23:09 ET3:09 GMT11:09 8:09 PM MST10:09 PM EST10:39 PM VEN7:09 UAE (+1)10:09 PM CT-Salazar was a tough-luck loser Wednesday as he matched a career high with 11 strikeouts in six innings, giving up two runs and four hits with two walks in a 2-1 loss to the White Sox.
Analysis: Salazar has 20 strikeouts in 11 2/3 innings, and this outing was a big improvement from his season debut.
Apr. 6 7:47 AM PT8:47 AM MT9:47 AM CT10:47 AM ET10:47 ET14:47 GMT22:47 7:47 AM MST9:47 AM EST10:17 AM VEN18:47 UAE9:47 AM CT-Salazar struck out nine in 5 2/3 innings, although he walked four and gave up five runs, four earned, before the Indians rallied for a 9-6 win over the Rangers on Wednesday.
Analysis: Salazar led the majors with 37 strikeouts in the spring, looking fully healthy after struggling with injuries in 2016.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2013 Cle 2 3 0 - 0 10 10 0 52.0 44 18 18 7 15 0 65 1.13 3.12
2014 Cle 6 8 0 - 0 20 20 1 110.0 117 57 52 13 35 4 120 1.38 4.25
2015 Cle 14 10 0 - 0 30 30 0 185.0 156 79 71 23 53 1 195 1.13 3.45
2016 Cle 11 6 0 - 0 25 25 0 137.1 121 61 59 16 63 3 161 1.34 3.87
Career 33 27 0 - 0 85 85 1 484.1 438 215 200 59 166 8 541 1.25 3.72

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2013 Cle 10 2 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2014 Cle 20 3 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2015 Cle 30 4 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 4 0 0 .000 .000 .000
2016 Cle 25 5 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 3 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 85 14 1 0 0 0 0 0 0 12 0 0 .000 .000 .000

Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2013 Cle Total 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 1 2 1 4 6.75
    WC 0 1 0 - 0 1 1 0 4.0 4 3 3 1 2 1 4 6.75
2016 Cle Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 4 0.00
    WS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 3.0 1 0 0 0 2 0 4 0.00
Career 0 1 0 - 0 3 1 0 7.0 5 3 3 1 4 1 8 3.86


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 589 98 90 95 57.18
Curveball 62 84 77 81.6 6.02
Slider 51 89 83 86.5 4.95
Split-Finger 328 90 83 86.6 31.84

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Sports Daily logo