MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#20
Justin Nicolino
ERA W-L K
5.06 2-3 26
Team: MiamiHt / Wt: 6-3 / 194
Position: SPBorn: 11/22/1991 Birthplace: Orlando, Florida
Bats/Throws: L/L Draft: 2nd Round by Blue Jays (2010)


Latest News
Oct. 2 10:23 AM PT11:23 AM MT12:23 PM CT1:23 PM ET13:23 ET17:23 GMT1:23 10:23 AM MST12:23 PM EST12:53 PM VEN21:23 UAE12:23 PM CT-Justin Nicolino allowed one run on one hit without recording an out as the Miami Marlins lost to the Atlanta Braves 8-5 on Sunday. Nicolino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.79 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 29 8:40 PM PT9:40 PM MT10:40 PM CT11:40 PM ET23:40 ET3:40 GMT11:40 8:40 PM MST10:40 PM EST11:10 PM VEN7:40 UAE (+1)10:40 PM CT-Justin Nicolino did not allow a hit or walk in 2.0 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 6-5 on Friday. Nicolino struck out one, ending the game with a 4.88 ERA and 1.77 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 25 8:02 AM PT9:02 AM MT10:02 AM CT11:02 AM ET11:02 ET15:02 GMT23:02 8:02 AM MST10:02 AM EST10:32 AM VEN19:02 UAE10:02 AM CT-Justin Nicolino fell to 2-3, allowing one run - zero earned - on no hits and two walks in 0.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 3-2 on Sunday. Nicolino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.24 ERA and 1.86 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 23 10:25 AM PT11:25 AM MT12:25 PM CT1:25 PM ET13:25 ET17:25 GMT1:25 10:25 AM MST12:25 PM EST12:55 PM VEN21:25 UAE12:25 PM CT-Justin Nicolino did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Arizona Diamondbacks 13-11 on Friday. Nicolino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.28 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 17 6:58 PM PT7:58 PM MT8:58 PM CT9:58 PM ET21:58 ET1:58 GMT9:58 6:58 PM MST8:58 PM EST9:28 PM VEN5:58 UAE (+1)8:58 PM CT-Justin Nicolino allowed one run on three hits and two walks in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Milwaukee Brewers 10-3 on Sunday. Nicolino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.32 ERA and 1.84 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 15 8:52 AM PT9:52 AM MT10:52 AM CT11:52 AM ET11:52 ET15:52 GMT23:52 8:52 AM MST10:52 AM EST11:22 AM VEN19:52 UAE10:52 AM CT-Justin Nicolino allowed one run on two hits in 2.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 10-0 on Thursday. Nicolino struck out two, ending the game with a 5.36 ERA and 1.81 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 7:39 PM PT8:39 PM MT9:39 PM CT10:39 PM ET22:39 ET2:39 GMT10:39 7:39 PM MST9:39 PM EST10:09 PM VEN6:39 UAE (+1)9:39 PM CT-Justin Nicolino allowed one run on two hits in 1.0 inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 8-1 on Wednesday. Nicolino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.79 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 5 9:21 AM PT10:21 AM MT11:21 AM CT12:21 PM ET12:21 ET16:21 GMT0:21 9:21 AM MST11:21 AM EST11:51 AM VEN20:21 UAE11:21 AM CT-Justin Nicolino did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Miami Marlins lost to the Washington Nationals 7-2 on Monday. Nicolino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.70 ERA and 1.87 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 23 8:55 PM PT9:55 PM MT10:55 PM CT11:55 PM ET23:55 ET3:55 GMT11:55 8:55 PM MST10:55 PM EST11:25 PM VEN7:55 UAE (+1)10:55 PM CT-Justin Nicolino fell to 2-2, allowing six runs on eight hits and two walks in 2.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Philadelphia Phillies 8-0 on Wednesday. Nicolino struck out two, ending the game with a 5.45 ERA and 1.91 WHIP on the season.
Aug. 19 8:14 AM PT9:14 AM MT10:14 AM CT11:14 AM ET11:14 ET15:14 GMT23:14 8:14 AM MST10:14 AM EST10:44 AM VEN19:14 UAE10:14 AM CT-Justin Nicolino improved to 2-1, allowing one run on six hits in 5.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the New York Mets 3-1 on Friday. Nicolino struck out one, ending the game with a 4.11 ERA and 1.73 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Nicolino won consecutive starts for the first time since April 27-May 3, 2016. Four relievers combined to limit the Mets to one hit the rest of the way, with Brad Ziegler picking up his fifth save with a perfect ninth.
Aug. 12 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Justin Nicolino improved to 1-1, allowing two runs - one earned - on six hits and four walks in 5.1 innings, as the Miami Marlins defeated the Colorado Rockies 4-3 on Saturday. Nicolino struck out two, ending the game with a 4.56 ERA and 1.83 WHIP on the season.
June 29 9:02 AM PT10:02 AM MT11:02 AM CT12:02 PM ET12:02 ET16:02 GMT0:02 9:02 AM MST11:02 AM EST11:32 AM VEN20:02 UAE11:02 AM CT-Justin Nicolino allowed one run on two hits and one walk in 0.1 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the New York Mets 8-0 on Wednesday. Nicolino did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.31 ERA and 1.82 WHIP on the season.
June 24 4:48 PM PT5:48 PM MT6:48 PM CT7:48 PM ET19:48 ET23:48 GMT7:48 4:48 PM MST6:48 PM EST7:18 PM VEN3:48 UAE (+1)6:48 PM CT-Nicolino allowed three runs - two earned - on seven hits in 4.0 innings as the Miami Marlins lost to the Chicago Cubs 5-3 on Saturday. Nicolino struck out four, ending the game with a 4.95 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: He's failed to complete more than four innings in his last four starts.
June 19 8:39 PM PT9:39 PM MT10:39 PM CT11:39 PM ET23:39 ET3:39 GMT11:39 8:39 PM MST10:39 PM EST11:09 PM VEN7:39 UAE (+1)10:39 PM CT-Justin Nicolino allowed six runs - three earned - on seven hits and one walk in 3.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Washington Nationals 8-7 on Monday. Nicolino struck out one, ending the game with a 5.06 ERA and 1.69 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Nicolino returned from a bruised left index finger to pitch for the first time since May 30.
May 30 6:04 PM PT7:04 PM MT8:04 PM CT9:04 PM ET21:04 ET1:04 GMT9:04 6:04 PM MST8:04 PM EST8:34 PM VEN5:04 UAE (+1)8:04 PM CT-Nicolino (bruised left index finger) will come off the DL to start against Washington on Monday night.
Analysis: The left-hander, who bruised his left index finger while bunting on May 30, is 0-1 with a 4.15 ERA in three starts this season.
May 20 10:07 AM PT11:07 AM MT12:07 PM CT1:07 PM ET13:07 ET17:07 GMT1:07 10:07 AM MST12:07 PM EST12:37 PM VEN21:07 UAE12:07 PM CT-Justin Nicolino fell to 0-1, allowing five runs on seven hits and two walks in 4.0 innings, as the Miami Marlins lost to the Los Angeles Dodgers 7-2 on Friday. Nicolino struck out three, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.90 WHIP on the season.
May 14 2:31 PM PT3:31 PM MT4:31 PM CT5:31 PM ET17:31 ET21:31 GMT5:31 2:31 PM MST4:31 PM EST5:01 PM VEN1:31 UAE (+1)4:31 PM CT-Justin Nicolino allowed one run on six hits and four walks in 6.0 innings as the Miami Marlins defeated the Atlanta Braves 3-1 on Sunday. Nicolino struck out five, ending the game with a 1.50 ERA and 1.67 WHIP on the season.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2015 Mia 5 4 0 - 0 12 12 0 74.0 72 33 33 8 20 2 23 1.24 4.01
2016 Mia 3 6 0 - 0 18 13 0 79.1 96 45 44 8 20 1 37 1.46 4.99
2017 Mia 2 3 0 - 0 20 8 0 48.0 66 33 27 8 20 5 26 1.79 5.06
Career 10 13 0 - 0 50 33 0 201.1 234 111 104 24 60 8 86 1.46 4.65

Hitting Statistics
Year Team G AB R H 2B 3B HR RBI BB K SB CS AVG OBP SLG
2015 Mia 13 25 0 1 0 0 0 0 0 8 0 0 .040 .040 .040
2016 Mia 18 22 0 2 0 0 0 0 1 11 0 0 .091 .130 .091
2017 Mia 20 11 0 0 0 0 0 0 0 2 0 0 .000 .000 .000
Career 51 58 0 3 0 0 0 0 1 21 0 0 .052 .068 .052


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 441 94 87 90.7 52.5
Curveball 143 80 73 77.2 17.02
Changeup 169 86 80 83.5 20.12
Cut Fastball 87 90 85 88 10.36

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Sports Daily logo