MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#39
Carson Smith
ERA S K
1.35 1 7
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 225 NFBC ADP: 687.47
Position: RPBorn: 10/19/1989 Birthplace: Midland, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 8th Round by Mariners (2011)


Latest News
Oct. 6 3:43 PM PT4:43 PM MT5:43 PM CT6:43 PM ET18:43 ET22:43 GMT6:43 3:43 PM MST5:43 PM EST6:13 PM VEN2:43 UAE (+1)5:43 PM CT-Carson Smith walked two and didn't allow a hit in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Houston Astros 8-2 on Friday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 6.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 30 2:41 PM PT3:41 PM MT4:41 PM CT5:41 PM ET17:41 ET21:41 GMT5:41 2:41 PM MST4:41 PM EST5:11 PM VEN1:41 UAE (+1)4:41 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one run on three hits without recording an out as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Houston Astros 6-3 on Saturday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 1.35 ERA and 1.35 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 26 11:26 PM PT12:26 AM MT1:26 AM CT2:26 AM ET2:26 ET6:26 GMT14:26 11:26 PM MST1:26 AM EST1:56 AM VEN10:26 UAE1:26 AM CT-Carson Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 2.0 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 6-4 on Monday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.90 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Smith has looked really good since returning from Tommy John surgery earlier this month, having permitted just four hits and two walks over 6 2/3 innings. It appears the right-hander could hold down a significant role in the Boston bullpen come playoff time.
Sep. 23 4:59 PM PT5:59 PM MT6:59 PM CT7:59 PM ET19:59 ET23:59 GMT7:59 4:59 PM MST6:59 PM EST7:29 PM VEN3:59 UAE (+1)6:59 PM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Cincinnati Reds 5-0 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.07 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 19 7:45 PM PT8:45 PM MT9:45 PM CT10:45 PM ET22:45 ET2:45 GMT10:45 7:45 PM MST9:45 PM EST10:15 PM VEN6:45 UAE (+1)9:45 PM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 1-0 on Tuesday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.15 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 18 8:51 PM PT9:51 PM MT10:51 PM CT11:51 PM ET23:51 ET3:51 GMT11:51 8:51 PM MST10:51 PM EST11:21 PM VEN7:51 UAE (+1)10:51 PM CT-Carson Smith recorded his first save, allowing no runs on no hits in 1.0 inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Baltimore Orioles 10-8 on Monday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.36 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Smith earned his first save since Aug. 18, 2015, for Seattle.
Sep. 12 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one hit and two walks without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Oakland Athletics 11-1 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.88 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 9 8:07 PM PT9:07 PM MT10:07 PM CT11:07 PM ET23:07 ET3:07 GMT11:07 8:07 PM MST10:07 PM EST10:37 PM VEN7:07 UAE (+1)10:07 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 9-0 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 1.00 WHIP on the season.
Sep. 6 10:41 PM PT11:41 PM MT12:41 AM CT1:41 AM ET1:41 ET5:41 GMT13:41 10:41 PM MST12:41 AM EST1:11 AM VEN9:41 UAE12:41 AM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 3-2 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 0.00 ERA and 0.00 WHIP on the season.
Analysis: Smith was activated from the 60-day disabled list and made his season debut in the 18th inning. Smith, sidelined while recovering from Tommy John surgery, had not pitched in the majors since May 14, 2016.

Regular Season

Pitching Statistics
Year Team W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K WHIP ERA
2014 Sea 1 0 0 - 0 9 0 0 8.1 2 0 0 0 3 0 10 0.60 0.00
2015 Sea 2 5 13 - 18 70 0 0 70.0 49 19 18 2 22 4 92 1.01 2.31
2016 Bos 0 0 0 - 0 3 0 0 2.2 2 1 0 0 1 0 2 1.13 0.00
2017 Bos 0 0 1 - 1 8 0 0 6.2 7 1 1 0 2 0 7 1.35 1.35
Career 3 5 14 - 19 90 0 0 87.2 60 21 19 2 28 4 111 1.00 1.95


Postseason

Pitching Statistics
Year Team Round W L Sv-Op G GS CG IP H R ER HR BB IBB K ERA
2017 Bos Total 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 2 0 1 0.00
    LDS 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 2 0 1 0.00
Career 0 0 0 - 0 2 0 0 1.1 2 0 0 0 2 0 1 0.00


Pitching Velocity

Pitch TypePitchesMaxMinAvgPct
Fastball 56 94 90 92 49.12
Slider 53 86 83 84.6 46.49
Changeup 5 89 86 88 4.39

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2017 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Sports Daily logo