MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Postseason|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions
#39
Carson Smith
ERA S K
3.77 0 18
Team: BostonHt / Wt: 6-5 / 225
Position: RPBorn: 10/19/1989 Birthplace: Midland, Texas
Bats/Throws: R/R Draft: 8th Round by Mariners (2011)


Latest News
May 15 12:51 PM PT1:51 PM MT2:51 PM CT3:51 PM ET15:51 ET19:51 GMT3:51 12:51 PM MST2:51 PM EST3:21 PM VEN23:51 UAE2:51 PM CT-Smith dislocated his pitching shoulder during a tantrum and went on the 10-day disabled list Tuesday, an injury the Red Sox said could be major.
Analysis: The right-hander was hurt when he threw his glove in the dugout after leaving Monday night's 6-5 loss to Oakland. Smith was acquired from Seattle before the 2016 season to be a set-up man for closer Craig Kimbrel but has been limited to 29 games for the Red Sox. He had Tommy John surgery on May 24, 2016, and returned to appear in eight games last September.
May 14 6:56 PM PT7:56 PM MT8:56 PM CT9:56 PM ET21:56 ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST8:56 PM EST9:26 PM VEN5:56 UAE (+1)8:56 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one run on one hit in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 6-5 on Monday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 3.77 ERA and 1.40 WHIP on the season.
May 12 4:20 PM PT5:20 PM MT6:20 PM CT7:20 PM ET19:20 ET23:20 GMT7:20 4:20 PM MST6:20 PM EST6:50 PM VEN3:20 UAE (+1)6:20 PM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 0.2 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-2 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 3.38 ERA and 1.43 WHIP on the season.
May 11 8:05 PM PT9:05 PM MT10:05 PM CT11:05 PM ET23:05 ET3:05 GMT11:05 8:05 PM MST10:05 PM EST10:35 PM VEN7:05 UAE (+1)10:05 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Toronto Blue Jays 5-3 on Friday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 3.55 ERA and 1.50 WHIP on the season.
May 9 7:53 PM PT8:53 PM MT9:53 PM CT10:53 PM ET22:53 ET2:53 GMT10:53 7:53 PM MST9:53 PM EST10:23 PM VEN6:53 UAE (+1)9:53 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 9-6 on Wednesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 3.86 ERA and 1.54 WHIP on the season.
May 8 7:44 PM PT8:44 PM MT9:44 PM CT10:44 PM ET22:44 ET2:44 GMT10:44 7:44 PM MST9:44 PM EST10:14 PM VEN6:44 UAE (+1)9:44 PM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 3-2 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 4.09 ERA and 1.55 WHIP on the season.
May 6 2:46 PM PT3:46 PM MT4:46 PM CT5:46 PM ET17:46 ET21:46 GMT5:46 2:46 PM MST4:46 PM EST5:16 PM VEN1:46 UAE (+1)4:46 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Texas Rangers 6-1 on Sunday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 4.22 ERA and 1.59 WHIP on the season.
May 1 8:44 PM PT9:44 PM MT10:44 PM CT11:44 PM ET23:44 ET3:44 GMT11:44 8:44 PM MST10:44 PM EST11:14 PM VEN7:44 UAE (+1)10:44 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed two hits without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Kansas City Royals 7-6 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 4.66 ERA and 1.66 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 30 7:28 PM PT8:28 PM MT9:28 PM CT10:28 PM ET22:28 ET2:28 GMT10:28 7:28 PM MST9:28 PM EST9:58 PM VEN6:28 UAE (+1)9:28 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Kansas City Royals 10-6 on Monday. Smith struck out two, ending the game with a 5.19 ERA and 1.62 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 26 7:21 PM PT8:21 PM MT9:21 PM CT10:21 PM ET22:21 ET2:21 GMT10:21 7:21 PM MST9:21 PM EST9:51 PM VEN6:21 UAE (+1)9:21 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one run on two hits in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Toronto Blue Jays 5-4 on Thursday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.87 ERA and 1.70 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 22 3:55 PM PT4:55 PM MT5:55 PM CT6:55 PM ET18:55 ET22:55 GMT6:55 3:55 PM MST5:55 PM EST6:25 PM VEN2:55 UAE (+1)5:55 PM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Oakland Athletics 4-1 on Sunday. Smith did not strike out a batter, ending the game with a 5.14 ERA and 1.57 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 20 10:46 PM PT11:46 PM MT12:46 AM CT1:46 AM ET1:46 ET5:46 GMT13:46 10:46 PM MST12:46 AM EST1:16 AM VEN9:46 UAE12:46 AM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 8-2 on Thursday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 5.40 ERA and 1.65 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 19 10:30 PM PT11:30 PM MT12:30 AM CT1:30 AM ET1:30 ET5:30 GMT13:30 10:30 PM MST12:30 AM EST1:00 AM VEN9:30 UAE12:30 AM CT-Carson Smith walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Los Angeles Angels 9-0 on Wednesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 6.35 ERA and 1.94 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 11 8:14 PM PT9:14 PM MT10:14 PM CT11:14 PM ET23:14 ET3:14 GMT11:14 8:14 PM MST10:14 PM EST10:44 PM VEN7:14 UAE (+1)10:14 PM CT-Carson Smith walked one and didn't allow a hit in 1.0 scoreless inning as the Boston Red Sox lost to the New York Yankees 10-7 on Wednesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 7.71 ERA and 2.14 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 8 2:02 PM PT3:02 PM MT4:02 PM CT5:02 PM ET17:02 ET21:02 GMT5:02 2:02 PM MST4:02 PM EST4:32 PM VEN1:02 UAE (+1)4:02 PM CT-Carson Smith improved to 1-1, allowing one hit and two walks over 1.0 scoreless inning, as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 8-7 on Sunday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 9.82 ERA and 2.45 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 5 3:04 PM PT4:04 PM MT5:04 PM CT6:04 PM ET18:04 ET22:04 GMT6:04 3:04 PM MST5:04 PM EST5:34 PM VEN2:04 UAE (+1)5:04 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed two runs on one hit and one walk in 1.0 inning as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Thursday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 2.25 WHIP on the season.
Apr. 3 7:40 PM PT8:40 PM MT9:40 PM CT10:40 PM ET22:40 ET2:40 GMT10:40 7:40 PM MST9:40 PM EST10:10 PM VEN6:40 UAE (+1)9:40 PM CT-Carson Smith did not allow a hit or walk in 0.1 scoreless innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Miami Marlins 4-2 on Tuesday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 10.80 ERA and 2.40 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 31 6:34 PM PT7:34 PM MT8:34 PM CT9:34 PM ET21:34 ET1:34 GMT9:34 6:34 PM MST8:34 PM EST9:04 PM VEN5:34 UAE (+1)8:34 PM CT-Carson Smith allowed one hit without giving up a run in 0.2 innings as the Boston Red Sox defeated the Tampa Bay Rays 3-2 on Saturday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 13.50 ERA and 3.00 WHIP on the season.
Mar. 29 4:03 PM PT5:03 PM MT6:03 PM CT7:03 PM ET19:03 ET23:03 GMT7:03 4:03 PM MST6:03 PM EST6:33 PM VEN3:03 UAE (+1)6:03 PM CT-Carson Smith fell to 0-1, allowing two runs on two hits and one walk in 0.2 innings, as the Boston Red Sox lost to the Tampa Bay Rays 6-4 on Thursday. Smith struck out one, ending the game with a 27.00 ERA and 4.50 WHIP on the season.

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2018 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties