MLB Baseball
Scoreboard|Stats|Standings|Teams|Players|Player News|Injuries|Transactions

Seattle Mariners (0-0)


Wed. 3/20 Thu. 3/21 Thu. 3/28 Fri. 3/29 Sat. 3/30
Sea 9 - 7 Oak
Final
Box
@ Oak
2:35 AM PT3:35 AM MT4:35 AM CT5:35 AM ET5:35 ET9:35 GMT17:35 2:35 AM MST4:35 AM EST5:05 AM VEN13:35 UAE3:35 AM CT
vs. Bos
4:08 PM PT5:08 PM MT6:08 PM CT7:08 PM ET19:08 ET23:08 GMT7:08 4:08 PM MST6:08 PM EST6:38 PM VEN3:08 UAE (+1)5:08 PM CT
vs. Bos
7:10 PM PT8:10 PM MT9:10 PM CT10:10 PM ET22:10 ET2:10 GMT10:10 7:10 PM MST9:10 PM EST9:40 PM VEN6:10 UAE (+1)8:10 PM CT
vs. Bos
6:10 PM PT7:10 PM MT8:10 PM CT9:10 PM ET21:10 ET1:10 GMT9:10 6:10 PM MST8:10 PM EST8:40 PM VEN5:10 UAE (+1)7:10 PM CT

Mariners' Kikuchi excited for MLB debut in home country

TOKYO -- What will possibly be one Japanese legend's final major-league appearance comes on the same day that another potential star from the baseball-crazed island nation makes his debut.

That's Yusei Kikuchi, who will make his first start for the Seattle Mariners on Thursday, facing the Oakland Athletics in the second game of the 2019 Opening Series at the Tokyo Dome in Japan.

"I never dreamt of starting my career in Japan," Kikuchi, 27, said through an interpreter. "This will be the experience of a lifetime for me. I'd like to enjoy it fully."

 MORE
Leaders
AVG: J. Segura.304
HR: N. Cruz37
RBI: N. Cruz97
SB: D. Gordon30
W: M. Gonzales13
ERA: W. LeBlanc3.72
Saves: E. Díaz57
K: J. Paxton208
General Batting (Rank)
AVG: .254 (8)
Runs: 677 (21)
Hits: 1402 (9)
Home Runs: 176 (17)
Stolen Bases: 79 (13)
OBP: .314 (18)
SLG: .408 (15)
Total Bases: 2250 (14)
General Pitching (Rank)
Earned Run Average: 4.13 (17)
Runs Allowed: 711 (17)
Saves: 60 (1)
Strikeouts: 1328 (20)
OpBA: .252 (20)
OBP: .308 (7)
SLG: .418 (21)
Run Support: 4.21 (21)
Transactions
Date Player Transactions
3/19 S. Armstrong Placed on 10-Day DL (Strained left oblique)
3/19 G. Bautista Placed on 10-Day DL (Right pectoralis strain)
3/19 K. Seager Placed on 10-Day DL (Left hand surgery)
3/19 I. Suzuki Purchased From Minors
3/19 A. Swarzak Placed on 10-Day DL (Right shoulder impingement)
Show Transactions
Injuries
Date Player Status
3/17 S. Armstrong Strained left oblique (on 10-day DL)
3/17 G. Bautista Right pectoralis strain (on 10-day DL)
3/17 K. Seager Left hand surgery (on 10-day DL)
3/17 A. Swarzak Right shoulder impingement (on 10-day DL)
3/17 S. Tuivailala Recovery from right Achilles surgery (on 10-day DL)
Show Injuries

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.

NESN Shows

Partner of USATODAY Sports Digital Properties