NHL Hockey

#45
Sami Vatanen
G A Pts
- - -
Team: New Jersey Devils Height: 5-10 Born: 6/3/1991
Position: DWeight: 185 Birthplace: Jyvaskyla, Finland

Latest News
Mar. 28 9:38 AM PT10:38 AM MT11:38 AM CT12:38 PM ET16:38 GMT0:38 9:38 AM MST10:38 AM CST11:38 AM EST20:38 UAE12:38 ET13:38 BRT - Vatanen has the flu and will not play Friday at Detroit.
Analysis: Vatanen is without a point in his last eight games.
Mar. 23 11:46 AM PT12:46 PM MT1:46 PM CT2:46 PM ET18:46 GMT2:46 11:46 AM MST12:46 PM CST1:46 PM EST22:46 UAE14:46 ET15:46 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 19:40 of ice time in the Devils' 2-1 shootout win over the Coyotes on Saturday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Mar. 5 7:03 AM PT8:03 AM MT9:03 AM CT10:03 AM ET15:03 GMT23:03 8:03 AM MST9:03 AM CST10:03 AM EST19:03 UAE10:03 ET12:03 BRT - Vatanen (illness) will play Friday after sitting out Tuesday against Columbus.
Analysis: Vatanen just returned last Wednesday after missing 14 games due to a concussion. He has 17 points in 49 contests this season while ranking among the team leaders in ice time per game and blocks.
Mar. 2 5:32 PM PT6:32 PM MT7:32 PM CT8:32 PM ET1:32 GMT9:32 6:32 PM MST7:32 PM CST8:32 PM EST5:32 UAE (+1)20:32 ET22:32 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 20:19 of ice time in the Devils' 1-0 loss to the Bruins on Saturday. He took three shots and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Mar. 1 5:47 PM PT6:47 PM MT7:47 PM CT8:47 PM ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST7:47 PM CST8:47 PM EST5:47 UAE (+1)20:47 ET22:47 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 24:24 of ice time in the Devils' 6-3 loss to the Flyers on Friday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -2 for the game.
Feb. 27 5:41 PM PT6:41 PM MT7:41 PM CT8:41 PM ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST7:41 PM CST8:41 PM EST5:41 UAE (+1)20:41 ET22:41 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 22:12 of ice time in the Devils' 2-1 loss to the Flames on Wednesday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Jan. 29 10:30 AM PT11:30 AM MT12:30 PM CT1:30 PM ET18:30 GMT2:30 11:30 AM MST12:30 PM CST1:30 PM EST22:30 UAE13:30 ET16:30 BRT - Vatanen (concussion) will return Wednesday against Calgary.
Analysis: Vatanen was injured Jan. 28 when then-Penguins center Derick Brassard lined him up along the end boards behind the New Jersey net. Vatanen tumbled to the ice and officials gave Brassard a five-minute major for boarding and a game misconduct. Vatanen has 17 points in 46 contests this season while ranking among the team leaders in ice time per game and blocks.
Jan. 28 5:47 PM PT6:47 PM MT7:47 PM CT8:47 PM ET1:47 GMT9:47 6:47 PM MST7:47 PM CST8:47 PM EST5:47 UAE (+1)20:47 ET23:47 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 18:26 of ice time in the Devils' 6-3 win over the Penguins on Monday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game.
Jan. 19 11:35 AM PT12:35 PM MT1:35 PM CT2:35 PM ET19:35 GMT3:35 12:35 PM MST1:35 PM CST2:35 PM EST23:35 UAE14:35 ET17:35 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 23:39 of ice time in the Devils' 3-2 loss to the Ducks on Saturday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Jan. 17 5:37 PM PT6:37 PM MT7:37 PM CT8:37 PM ET1:37 GMT9:37 6:37 PM MST7:37 PM CST8:37 PM EST5:37 UAE (+1)20:37 ET23:37 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 19:49 of ice time in the Devils' 4-1 loss to the Islanders on Thursday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Jan. 15 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST7:43 PM CST8:43 PM EST5:43 UAE (+1)20:43 ET23:43 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:20 of ice time in the Devils' 4-1 loss to the Blue Jackets on Tuesday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Jan. 14 5:52 PM PT6:52 PM MT7:52 PM CT8:52 PM ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST7:52 PM CST8:52 PM EST5:52 UAE (+1)20:52 ET23:52 BRT - Sami Vatanen tallied one goal and one assist in 21:39 of ice time in the Devils' 8-5 win over the Blackhawks on Monday. He took three shots and had a plus-minus of +2 for the game. Vatanen now has four goals and 13 assists on the season.
Jan. 12 11:48 AM PT12:48 PM MT1:48 PM CT2:48 PM ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST1:48 PM CST2:48 PM EST23:48 UAE14:48 ET17:48 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:15 of ice time in the Devils' 3-2 win over the Flyers on Saturday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game.
Jan. 10 5:50 PM PT6:50 PM MT7:50 PM CT8:50 PM ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST7:50 PM CST8:50 PM EST5:50 UAE (+1)20:50 ET23:50 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 18:31 of ice time in the Devils' 4-2 loss to the Maple Leafs on Thursday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of -3 for the game.
Jan. 8 5:41 PM PT6:41 PM MT7:41 PM CT8:41 PM ET1:41 GMT9:41 6:41 PM MST7:41 PM CST8:41 PM EST5:41 UAE (+1)20:41 ET23:41 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 20:32 of ice time in the Devils' 5-1 loss to the Sabres on Tuesday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Jan. 6 2:50 PM PT3:50 PM MT4:50 PM CT5:50 PM ET22:50 GMT6:50 3:50 PM MST4:50 PM CST5:50 PM EST2:50 UAE (+1)17:50 ET20:50 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 18:34 of ice time in the Devils' 3-2 loss to the Golden Knights on Sunday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Jan. 4 8:03 PM PT9:03 PM MT10:03 PM CT11:03 PM ET4:03 GMT12:03 9:03 PM MST10:03 PM CST11:03 PM EST8:03 UAE23:03 ET2:03 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:29 of ice time in the Devils' 3-2 shootout win over the Coyotes on Friday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Jan. 2 7:15 PM PT8:15 PM MT9:15 PM CT10:15 PM ET3:15 GMT11:15 8:15 PM MST9:15 PM CST10:15 PM EST7:15 UAE (+1)22:15 ET1:15 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 23:17 of ice time in the Devils' 5-4 loss to the Stars on Wednesday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Dec. 31 11:40 AM PT12:40 PM MT1:40 PM CT2:40 PM ET19:40 GMT3:40 12:40 PM MST1:40 PM CST2:40 PM EST23:40 UAE14:40 ET17:40 BRT - Sami Vatanen tallied one goal and one assist in 22:27 of ice time in the Devils' 4-0 win over the Canucks on Monday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game. Vatanen now has three goals and 12 assists on the season.
Dec. 29 11:48 AM PT12:48 PM MT1:48 PM CT2:48 PM ET19:48 GMT3:48 12:48 PM MST1:48 PM CST2:48 PM EST23:48 UAE14:48 ET17:48 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 19:13 of ice time in the Devils' 2-0 win over the Hurricanes on Saturday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Dec. 27 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET1:43 GMT9:43 6:43 PM MST7:43 PM CST8:43 PM EST5:43 UAE (+1)20:43 ET23:43 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:31 of ice time in the Devils' 5-2 win over the Bruins on Thursday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Dec. 23 11:08 AM PT12:08 PM MT1:08 PM CT2:08 PM ET19:08 GMT3:08 12:08 PM MST1:08 PM CST2:08 PM EST23:08 UAE14:08 ET17:08 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 19:11 of ice time in the Devils' 3-0 loss to the Blue Jackets on Sunday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -3 for the game.
Dec. 21 5:53 PM PT6:53 PM MT7:53 PM CT8:53 PM ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST7:53 PM CST8:53 PM EST5:53 UAE (+1)20:53 ET23:53 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 19:09 of ice time in the Devils' 5-2 win over the Senators on Friday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game.
Dec. 20 5:53 PM PT6:53 PM MT7:53 PM CT8:53 PM ET1:53 GMT9:53 6:53 PM MST7:53 PM CST8:53 PM EST5:53 UAE (+1)20:53 ET23:53 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:15 of ice time in the Devils' 2-1 loss to the Blue Jackets on Thursday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Dec. 18 5:42 PM PT6:42 PM MT7:42 PM CT8:42 PM ET1:42 GMT9:42 6:42 PM MST7:42 PM CST8:42 PM EST5:42 UAE (+1)20:42 ET23:42 BRT - Sami Vatanen scored one goal in 22:13 of ice time in the Devils' 7-2 loss to the Maple Leafs on Tuesday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -2 for the game. Vatanen now has two goals on the season.
Dec. 15 7:12 PM PT8:12 PM MT9:12 PM CT10:12 PM ET3:12 GMT11:12 8:12 PM MST9:12 PM CST10:12 PM EST7:12 UAE (+1)22:12 ET1:12 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 25:28 of ice time in the Devils' 2-1 shootout loss to the Predators on Saturday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Dec. 14 5:46 PM PT6:46 PM MT7:46 PM CT8:46 PM ET1:46 GMT9:46 6:46 PM MST7:46 PM CST8:46 PM EST5:46 UAE (+1)20:46 ET23:46 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:46 of ice time in the Devils' 5-4 overtime win over the Golden Knights on Friday. He took four shots and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game.
Dec. 11 9:10 PM PT10:10 PM MT11:10 PM CT12:10 AM ET5:10 GMT13:10 10:10 PM MST11:10 PM CST12:10 AM EST9:10 UAE0:10 ET3:10 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 20:47 of ice time in the Devils' 5-2 loss to the Sharks on Monday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Dec. 9 7:08 PM PT8:08 PM MT9:08 PM CT10:08 PM ET3:08 GMT11:08 8:08 PM MST9:08 PM CST10:08 PM EST7:08 UAE (+1)22:08 ET1:08 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 25:16 of ice time in the Devils' 6-5 shootout loss to the Ducks on Sunday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game.
Dec. 7 9:31 PM PT10:31 PM MT11:31 PM CT12:31 AM ET5:31 GMT13:31 10:31 PM MST11:31 PM CST12:31 AM EST9:31 UAE0:31 ET3:31 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 20:49 of ice time in the Devils' 6-3 win over the Kings on Thursday. He took six shots and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game. Vatanen now has 11 assists on the season.
Dec. 4 10:31 AM PT11:31 AM MT12:31 PM CT1:31 PM ET18:31 GMT2:31 11:31 AM MST12:31 PM CST1:31 PM EST22:31 UAE13:31 ET16:31 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 18:48 of ice time in the Devils' 5-1 loss to the Lightning on Monday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of even for the game. Vatanen now has 10 assists on the season.
Dec. 1 6:12 PM PT7:12 PM MT8:12 PM CT9:12 PM ET2:12 GMT10:12 7:12 PM MST8:12 PM CST9:12 PM EST6:12 UAE (+1)21:12 ET0:12 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 27:19 of ice time in the Devils' 4-3 overtime loss to the Jets on Saturday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Nov. 30 5:49 PM PT6:49 PM MT7:49 PM CT8:49 PM ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST7:49 PM CST8:49 PM EST5:49 UAE (+1)20:49 ET23:49 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:59 of ice time in the Devils' 6-3 loss to the Capitals on Friday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -2 for the game.
Nov. 26 6:05 PM PT7:05 PM MT8:05 PM CT9:05 PM ET2:05 GMT10:05 7:05 PM MST8:05 PM CST9:05 PM EST6:05 UAE (+1)21:05 ET0:05 BRT - Sami Vatanen had two assists in 21:29 of ice time in the Devils' 4-3 overtime loss to the Panthers on Monday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game. Vatanen now has nine assists on the season.
Nov. 25 5:54 PM PT6:54 PM MT7:54 PM CT8:54 PM ET1:54 GMT9:54 6:54 PM MST7:54 PM CST8:54 PM EST5:54 UAE (+1)20:54 ET23:54 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 20:47 of ice time in the Devils' 5-2 loss to the Lightning on Sunday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -2 for the game.
Nov. 23 2:53 PM PT3:53 PM MT4:53 PM CT5:53 PM ET22:53 GMT6:53 3:53 PM MST4:53 PM CST5:53 PM EST2:53 UAE (+1)17:53 ET20:53 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 22:42 of ice time in the Devils' 4-3 overtime loss to the Islanders on Friday. He took four shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game. Vatanen now has seven assists on the season.
Nov. 16 11:30 AM PT12:30 PM MT1:30 PM CT2:30 PM ET19:30 GMT3:30 12:30 PM MST1:30 PM CST2:30 PM EST23:30 UAE14:30 ET17:30 BRT - Vatanen (lower body) has been activated off injured reserve and will be in the lineup Friday against the Islanders.
Analysis: Vatanen has seven points in 17 games this season.
Nov. 15 5:49 PM PT6:49 PM MT7:49 PM CT8:49 PM ET1:49 GMT9:49 6:49 PM MST7:49 PM CST8:49 PM EST5:49 UAE (+1)20:49 ET23:49 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 9:14 of ice time in the Devils' 3-0 win over the Flyers on Thursday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game.
Nov. 13 5:56 PM PT6:56 PM MT7:56 PM CT8:56 PM ET1:56 GMT9:56 6:56 PM MST7:56 PM CST8:56 PM EST5:56 UAE (+1)20:56 ET23:56 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 25:00 of ice time in the Devils' 4-2 win over the Penguins on Tuesday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Nov. 11 5:50 PM PT6:50 PM MT7:50 PM CT8:50 PM ET1:50 GMT9:50 6:50 PM MST7:50 PM CST8:50 PM EST5:50 UAE (+1)20:50 ET23:50 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 26:43 of ice time in the Devils' 5-2 loss to the Jets on Sunday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of -2 for the game.
Nov. 9 6:14 PM PT7:14 PM MT8:14 PM CT9:14 PM ET2:14 GMT10:14 7:14 PM MST8:14 PM CST9:14 PM EST6:14 UAE (+1)21:14 ET0:14 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 20:37 of ice time in the Devils' 6-1 loss to the Maple Leafs on Friday. He took four shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Nov. 6 6:26 PM PT7:26 PM MT8:26 PM CT9:26 PM ET2:26 GMT10:26 7:26 PM MST8:26 PM CST9:26 PM EST6:26 UAE (+1)21:26 ET0:26 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 19:45 of ice time in the Devils' 7-3 loss to the Senators on Tuesday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -2 for the game. Vatanen now has six assists on the season.
Nov. 5 5:52 PM PT6:52 PM MT7:52 PM CT8:52 PM ET1:52 GMT9:52 6:52 PM MST7:52 PM CST8:52 PM EST5:52 UAE (+1)20:52 ET23:52 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 21:34 of ice time in the Devils' 5-1 win over the Penguins on Monday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Nov. 3 5:44 PM PT6:44 PM MT7:44 PM CT8:44 PM ET0:44 GMT8:44 5:44 PM MST6:44 PM CST7:44 PM EST4:44 UAE (+1)20:44 ET21:44 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 20:31 of ice time in the Devils' 3-0 loss to the Islanders on Saturday. He took three shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Nov. 1 6:31 PM PT7:31 PM MT8:31 PM CT9:31 PM ET1:31 GMT9:31 6:31 PM MST7:31 PM CST8:31 PM EST5:31 UAE (+1)21:31 ET22:31 BRT - Sami Vatanen scored one goal in 21:19 of ice time in the Devils' 4-3 loss to the Red Wings on Thursday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game. Vatanen now has one goal on the season.
Oct. 30 6:25 PM PT7:25 PM MT8:25 PM CT9:25 PM ET1:25 GMT9:25 6:25 PM MST7:25 PM CST8:25 PM EST5:25 UAE (+1)21:25 ET22:25 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 21:38 of ice time in the Devils' 8-3 loss to the Lightning on Tuesday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of even for the game. Vatanen now has five assists on the season.
Oct. 27 11:06 AM PT12:06 PM MT1:06 PM CT2:06 PM ET18:06 GMT2:06 11:06 AM MST12:06 PM CST1:06 PM EST22:06 UAE14:06 ET15:06 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 25:18 of ice time in the Devils' 3-2 win over the Panthers on Saturday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of +2 for the game.
Oct. 25 5:56 PM PT6:56 PM MT7:56 PM CT8:56 PM ET0:56 GMT8:56 5:56 PM MST6:56 PM CST7:56 PM EST4:56 UAE (+1)20:56 ET21:56 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 25:52 of ice time in the Devils' 4-3 overtime loss to the Predators on Thursday. He took five shots and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game. Vatanen now has four assists on the season.
Oct. 20 11:52 AM PT12:52 PM MT1:52 PM CT2:52 PM ET18:52 GMT2:52 11:52 AM MST12:52 PM CST1:52 PM EST22:52 UAE14:52 ET15:52 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 29:01 of ice time in the Devils' 5-2 loss to the Flyers on Saturday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Oct. 18 5:53 PM PT6:53 PM MT7:53 PM CT8:53 PM ET0:53 GMT8:53 5:53 PM MST6:53 PM CST7:53 PM EST4:53 UAE (+1)20:53 ET21:53 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 18:28 of ice time in the Devils' 5-3 loss to the Avalanche on Thursday. He took one shot and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game.
Oct. 16 5:43 PM PT6:43 PM MT7:43 PM CT8:43 PM ET0:43 GMT8:43 5:43 PM MST6:43 PM CST7:43 PM EST4:43 UAE (+1)20:43 ET21:43 BRT - Sami Vatanen had 25:10 of ice time in the Devils' 3-0 win over the Stars on Tuesday. He took three shots and had a plus-minus of even for the game.
Oct. 14 11:51 AM PT12:51 PM MT1:51 PM CT2:51 PM ET18:51 GMT2:51 11:51 AM MST12:51 PM CST1:51 PM EST22:51 UAE14:51 ET15:51 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 20:42 of ice time in the Devils' 3-2 win over the Sharks on Sunday. He took six shots and had a plus-minus of -1 for the game. Vatanen now has three assists on the season.
Oct. 11 5:48 PM PT6:48 PM MT7:48 PM CT8:48 PM ET0:48 GMT8:48 5:48 PM MST6:48 PM CST7:48 PM EST4:48 UAE (+1)20:48 ET21:48 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 24:45 of ice time in the Devils' 6-0 win over the Capitals on Thursday. He took two shots and had a plus-minus of +2 for the game. Vatanen now has two assists on the season.
Oct. 6 12:02 PM PT1:02 PM MT2:02 PM CT3:02 PM ET19:02 GMT3:02 12:02 PM MST1:02 PM CST2:02 PM EST23:02 UAE15:02 ET16:02 BRT - Sami Vatanen had an assist in 22:57 of ice time in the Devils' 5-2 win over the Oilers on Saturday. He didn't take a shot and had a plus-minus of +1 for the game. Vatanen now has one assist on the season.

Career Regular Season Stats

Totals
Year Team GP G A Pts +/- PM PP SHG GWG S SPct.
2012-13 Anh 8 2 0 2 3 0 1 0 0 6 33.33
2013-14 Anh 48 6 15 21 9 22 2 0 0 73 8.22
2014-15 Anh 67 12 25 37 5 36 7 1 1 122 9.84
2015-16 Anh 71 9 29 38 8 20 4 0 2 140 6.43
2016-17 Anh 71 3 21 24 3 30 2 0 0 117 2.56
2017-18 Anh 15 1 3 4 -6 8 0 0 0 22 4.55
2017-18 NJ 57 3 25 28 -1 32 1 0 0 123 2.44
2017-18 Tot 72 4 28 32 -7 40 1 0 0 145 2.76
2018-19 NJ 50 4 13 17 -17 22 3 0 0 107 3.74
Career 387 40 131 171 4 170 20 1 3 710 5.63

Career Postseason Stats

Totals
Totals Team GP G A Pts +/- PM PP SHG GWG S SPct.
2013-14 Anh 5 0 1 1 -2 0 0 0 0 10 0.00
2014-15 Anh 16 3 8 11 5 8 0 0 0 35 8.57
2015-16 Anh 7 1 3 4 4 6 0 0 1 12 8.33
2016-17 Anh 12 1 5 6 -5 4 1 0 0 22 4.55
2017-18 NJ 4 1 0 1 -1 0 0 0 0 9 11.11
Career 44 6 17 23 1 18 1 0 1 88 6.82

Sports Data API Powered by STATS © 2019 by STATS.
Any commercial use or distribution without the express written consent of STATS is strictly prohibited.